Winter’s Bone Structure, by Beverly Hicks Burch

“I prefer winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure of the landscape – the loneliness of it, the dead feeling of winter. Something waits beneath it, the whole story doesn’t show.” ~ Andrew Wyeth ~

Winterberries

A little over three years ago Tall & Handsome and I went to Minnesota to spend Thanksgiving with his family. We also celebrated his mother’s 90th birthday. It was a grand time.

I had spent several months in Minnesota back in the 1980s and had fallen in love with the natural beauty of the “arrowhead region” or the North Shore of Lake Superior. One of my very favorite spots on the North Shore is Split Rock Lighthouse.

So, when we started to head home, we took a little detour and headed north first. Sharing this lighthouse with T & H was something I eagerly looked forward to. I have long been a devotee of all things lighthouse, and Split Rock is one of the most unique and unusual I have visited.

Take into account also, we were headed north in the month of November…late November…getting closer and closer to the Canadian border. That equaled COLD!! There was already snow on the ground in places.

Even so, the experience was everything I had hoped for. T & H loved the place and we had a wonderful, romantic side trip. It was a much needed trip from the everyday to day stresses of life.

I had never seen this part of Minnesota during winter and during the drive one thing I began to notice were the trees loaded with bright red Winterberries. I loved the juxtaposition of the Winterberries against the background of the lighthouse in today’s picture of the day.

What delightful, vivid splashes of color the Winterberries brought against the stark beauty of Nature’s bone structure during winter!

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

2 Comments

Filed under Lake Superior, Lighthouses, Minnesota, Photography, Picture of the Day, Split Rock Lighthouse, Tall & Handsome, Travel, Winter, Winterberries

2 responses to “Winter’s Bone Structure, by Beverly Hicks Burch

  1. Mary Hicks

    Michigan has 116 lighthouses, just around the mitten. Many more around the UP (Upper Penninsula, in Michigander). Lake Superior is never over 45 degress, all year round. I would not suggest that a Southern girl put her toes in that water ever–it will chill you to the bone. My most favorite of all the Great Lakes is Lake Michigan. So beautiful, and not nearly as cold, although cold enough. I am glad to hear that you liked the frozen North Beverly. I suffer in the SC summers. I will always have iccicles in my veins, I think! You should go see White Fish Point and the lighthouse there-there is also a Mariner’s Museum. The UP is a desolate place, with nothing but forest and lakes between cities. That is the place where the black bear, Moose, and Wapiti (Elk) still roam. Michigan has the greatest number of lighthouses of any State in the union. I had no idea that you liked lighthouses! This is a topic we have explored, I guess. I love them too. Presque Isle and Point Betsy are 2 of my most favorite lighthouses in Michigan, in any season. Just remember, above the middle of the Mitten, all things tourist close in mid October. So, unless you like to snow ski, ride snowmobiles, skate, or play hockey, do not go above that part of Michigan in the winter months. The natives will give dog sled rides, and teach you to drive a team, and in some areas they have gourmet meals cooked in lodges, over open fires, after a lovely sleigh ride behind a team of sled horses. That is worth going to Michigan in the winter to see!
    Mary Hicks

  2. Mary,
    Yes, I love lighthouses! I’ve written about them several times and posted a few pictures. I try to see as many as I can in any state that has lighthouses. I’ve spent a considerable amount of time in Maine which has 100s of lighthouses, including Portland Head Light, one of the lighthouses commissioned by George Washington to protect our infant nation’s shores and shipping industry. The most distant one would probably be the lighthouses in Hawaii. There’s one that sits in or on the edge of the crater of Diamond Head in Honolulu and there is one on the island of Kauai. That lighthouse has one of the most splendid views I’ve ever seen in my life.

    I was in Duluth from spring until Fall and I was witness to the great differences in temps that far North. Although I would have to say they had a very warm summer that year and since Duluth sits right on Lake Superior, the humidity was almost as bad as here in the South. What made it so bad is most of the homes and apartments didn’t have central AC!!! I am an air condition baby!! It was down right miserable at times. I would get my son up and get ready and we would go to the mall and just sit until things cooled down in the evenings.

    Lake Superior was fascinating. It acts like a giant rock tumbler and all the rocks that are tossed up on the shore are polished and smooth. For ages the “rock” was beautiful agate, but it’s harder to find that now. There is a maritime museum in Duluth with a whole exhibit dedicated to the Edmund Fitzgerald. And, yes, my toes did dip the waters and found it refreshingly wonderful, although we were warned at that time not to eat any fish from the Lake because of pollution. I believe it has since be cleaned up.

    Now, get ready to sit down! The only place this Southern gal has visited in MI is the UP!! :-) Yep, it’s true! I have visited Ironwood, MI (that is the UP, right?) and seen the famous statue of Hiawatha. It is a beautiful place.

    I am a closet nomad and have wanderlust…it is an awful and wonderful affliction to have lol!

    Bev

Leave a Reply

