The Sigh of History Rises Over Ruins, by Beverly Hicks Burch

“The sigh of History rises over ruins, not over landscapes…” ~ Derek Walcott ~

Sugar mill on st.croix

What child thinks about being an archeologist as a career path when they grow up? This little girl for one. I have always been fascinated with history. I don’t mean the kind where a droning teacher or professor stands before the class and requires you to memorized nothing but dates (although dates are important). I’m talking about history that is almost living and breathing.

That’s probably part of the reason I love to travel…to see how the rest of the world lives and lived.

Depending on you age you probably have seen pivotal historical moments…times that changed the country, history and even the landscape. The most recent one that comes to my mind, of course, is the 9/11 attacks on the USA. For this generation that is much like what Pearl Harbor was for the last generation…a defining moment. I can look back and see a historical timeline of other defining pinpoints in history. The Mount St. Helen eruption was not only historical but literally changed the landscape.

I snapped today’s picture in 1998 while in St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. The USVI were originally colonized by the Dutch and for them sugar was a big money making crop. As a result, the ruins of old sugar mills in varying states of decay dot the entire island. I’m sure for some they represent oppression and for others they represent industry and progress. They are a wonder and in some cases isolated sights to behold.

As I look back over the timeline of my life I see pivotal moments…moments I wish I could change, like battling non-smoking lung cancer twice, or making some of the mistakes I’ve made. Then there are moments I’d gladly recount. And, then there are those moments that have changed the landscape of my life, like the birth of my child and finding my Tall & Handsome.

I don’t think I will ever create history book type history, but when I’m gone I hope those who knew me can look back at my life, my history and see kindness, love, compassion, industry and creativity. I hope the ruins in my life with be minimal.

And, I hope the sigh of History will rise over my life…

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under Photography, Picture of the Day, Quote of the Day, St. Croix US Virgin Islands, Sugar Mill Ruins, Tall & Handsome, Travel, US Virgin Islands

Leave a Reply

