I Will Never Forget the Bright September Day…, by Beverly Hicks Burch

“I will never forget the bright September day, standing at my desk in the White House, when my young assistant said that a plane hit the World Trade Center – and then a second one…” ~ Condoleezza Rice ~

remarkable capture

I was a young lass toting around a Pentax SLR almost 30 years ago to the day when I captured this image.

I rediscovered it as I was sorting though my pictures. I’m on a mission to scan and digitally preserve as many as I can. The color in many of the photographs has already degraded into an almost black and white composition…but, the image is still there.

This picture managed to make me catch my breath for a fleeting second…for several reasons…

First, I didn’t recall taking the image…but that’s what 30 years of time and life do for you. Then, I always seem to have that reaction when I find a photograph I’ve taken of the World Trade Towers. It was a time of adventure and exploration in my life and the Trade Towers were one of my favorite places.

A first glance it appears the Goodyear blimp has just floated between the Towers, but a closer glance will show you it’s an optical illusion and it is actually in front of the Towers. But, the next shockingly amazing thing about this picture is the capture of the airplane flying just above the blimp. You can see it in front of the Tower on the right.

How eerie to see an airplane that close to the Towers knowing what destiny and history will bring 18 years in the future…

New York and the country lost a lot on that bright September day…

If we all look back, I’m sure we can think of things we have lost personally or have gone through that have been as devastating on a personal level.

I know I can look back over the last twelve years and at certain times say or think, “This has been a personal 9/11 for me.” There were no planes, no blimps, just loss, financial woes and in some cases emotional terrorism caused by betrayal.

On May 10, 2013 the 408 foot spire was raised and installed at One World Trade Center, or as it’s also known, The Freedom Tower. It was a happy, jubilant moment. A moment that reminded New Yorkers how resilient they were and reminded Americans how resilient we are.

So, for the struggles we suffered, we are now rewarded with triumph. It reminds me of a the saying: “Well, done thy good and faithful servant.” Like an old black and white western movie, good won over evil…the guy in the white hat beat the guy in the black hat…

I know, I will never forget that bright September day…so, as we struggle through with some of our darker days, remember, we will get our “Freedom Spire” someday.

And, until then, head high, and…“second star to the right and straight on until morning….” ~ J. M. Barrie ~

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under New York, New York City, Photography, Picture of the Day, Quote of the Day, Vintage Photo, World Trade Towers

Leave a Reply

