To a Cup O’ Kindness, My Friend, by Beverly Hicks Burch

And we’ll tak a cup o’ kindness yet…” ~ Robert Burns, Auld Lang Syne ~

Horton Mill Bridge K2

Some years are just better than other years. I think we can all agree on that. Some years are a mixed bag, and then some years are what I call a mountain top year – those years where everything is golden.

The last few years Tall & Handsome and I have almost decided to call ourselves Mr. and Mrs. Job. As in the tornado has hit, the livestock are dead and we’re waiting on the boils and what’s next – literally.

You know you’re having plum years when your Miniature Schnauzer develops prostrate problems one Christmas and the next Christmas he develops life threatening bladder stones. In the interim you’ve rescued a female mini Schnauzer who turns out to be Rain Main in a dog suit.

And, that’s just the canine “issues”…

We won’t talk about health, jobs, crazy people, insurance, thieves, hardness in people, the economy and…

BANK OF AMERICA – DRACULA OF THE MODERN WORLD…

The world at large lost some irreplaceable people. Many of us lost good people this year. People we loved very much, people who left gaping holes in our lives. I lost my aunt in June 2012 and I still haven’t recovered. If anything, this holiday season was worse than last year. She was that important to me.

Back in the spring Tall & Handsome and I drove up to Blount County, Alabama to visit the Horton Mill Covered Bridge. He’d not had the opportunity for a visit. It was a lovely spring day and I took advantage to grab some shots while there.

I was going through those photos and today’s photo of the day caught my attention.

A bridge. For those who have passed on from us to better things. To time we can’t get back – and may not want back.

A bridge. To better days. To the future. To the ones we love.

A bridge. To a cup o’ kindness, my friend…

Happy New Year and a golden 2014!

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

6 Comments

Filed under Alabama, Bank of America, Blount County Alabama, Covered Bridges, Holidays, Horton Mill Covered Bridge, New Year, Photography, Picture of the Day, Quote of the Day, Robert Burns, Tall & Handsome

6 responses to “To a Cup O’ Kindness, My Friend, by Beverly Hicks Burch

  1. Marlayne

    Yes, time have been difficult for a great many of us, but I can look around and see others worse off. I allow myself a five minute pity party, then attempt to move on, but not always easily. Your use of a bridge as a gap between us and eternity, us and life in general is very eloquent. Loved the photo as well. May you and T. & H. have a very wonderful New Year. Know you are thought of with fondness & hugs during this special time. Can’t let the New Year end without expressing my gratitude for you, your support, tremendous help in writing etc. You are THE BEST!

  2. Sally

    Very well written. I totally understand ! Here’s to a bridge to better days ahead :)

  3. I was touched by this article because 2013 was truly a mixed bag of wonderful happenings and challenging events. Not the least of the challenging events was the loss of my father in December, right before Christmas. But, even if it’s a bumpy ride over the bridge, there’s always lots of reasons around to praise the Lord. Here’s to a golden 2014!

    • Elizabeth,

      Thank you for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment.

      I’m always humbled when something I write touches readers in some way. Particularly so in your case. I lost a beloved aunt in June of 2012 and although this was my second Christmas without her, it was the worst.

      I’m so sorry for you loss at a time of the year when we are normally celebrating life, family and joy. You are right, the ride over that old covered bridge is a bumpy one, just like life – but, we do have Someone who gives us Grace and carries us across those bumps just like sometimes there are only one set of footprints in the sand.

      Here is to peace that passes understanding in 2014, fewer bumps – and many cups of kindness.

      Bev

Leave a Reply

