Men Can No Longer Live as Strangers, by Beverly Hicks Burch

On this shrunken globe, men can no longer live as strangers.” ~ Adlai E. Stevens ~

Backyard view 1-28-2014

So, what does the “Great Snowing Dusting of 2014”, today’s quote of the day, the pictures of the day, my 81 year old Daddy and a love affair with my Sweet Home Alabama and my little local community have to do with each other?

Well, allow me to explain…

I’ve made no secret how much this East Tennessee born gal loves her Sweet Home Alabama and the spot where she lives in particular. In part, because the natural beauty reminds me of my ancestral roots. But, mostly you just can’t find better people anywhere – no, really.

For the past few days we had been warned of an impending winter storm headed our way. Yes, Virginia, not only does it get down right cold in the Deep South, but we do see single digit weather and even see the big “S” word. That unique white, frozen, multi-sided wonder called snow.

And, when we do, we are thrown into chaos. Not because we are bumpkin, Dilberts who think the sky is falling, but because it’s a fairly infrequent occurrence and therefore we’re not equipped to handled major events like our Northern cousins.

Now, the forecast was a strangely odd one. The most severe and heavy snow was going to be south of the Birmingham area to the coast – yes, the warm coast, the Gulf of Mexico where they were expecting two inches or more of snow. The Birmingham area was to expect a dusting of snow. Temps were going to be frigid everywhere – and this was our third or fourth blast of frigid, Arctic air.

Having been through this before, I had a sneaking suspicion the dusting could turn into something else if Mother Nature decided to turn just the slightest fickled – and she did.

Here’s what she graced us with at our house (that foggy look is actually snow still falling):

Front Porch C 1-28-2014

Front Steps 1-28-2014

Jeeps in the Back Driveway 1-28-2014

Sundeck 1-28-2014

Return of the Cold Schnauzer 1-28-2014

And, this was at the very beginning of the “Great Snow Dusting of 2014”. It “dusted snow” – heavily – from about 10:30 AM until 3:30 PM. Sooooo, it got pretty “dusty” around here – and icy. We were socked in with two Miniature Schnauzers, our electronics devices and no where to go. In other words, life was pretty good, until…

My little 80 year old Momma calls and after “momma” chit chat drops into the conversation my 81 year old Daddy went down the mountain at 10:30 yesterday morning to go to Walmart to pick up some groceries. This is a man with a pacemaker and meds he keeps on an Excel spreadsheet. (That’s the mechanical Project Manager in him.)

I wanted to say, “Oh, no, he didn’t.” But, as the first born daughter always trying to be the good daughter, I said, “He did WHAT?!”

She confirmed what I thought I heard, and then went back into to chit chat mode – while my brain starts doing wheelies – NO KIDDING.

Daddy was stranded at Walmart. He was planning on spending the night in his Durango and alternating time between there and inside Walmart. He was concerned the soda he had bought would freeze and explode in the back of his SUV so he was going to go out and warm it up periodically. Seriously, Daddy?! I’m sure there are endangered baby condors who aren’t worried about as much as Daddy was worrying about those groceries.

I am also the family tech support agent and certified techno geek. And, it just so happened a week or so ago I had joined a group on Facebook geared toward what’s happening in our community of Springville.

So, I hopped onto the Springville community page and before I knew it, a whole community was mobilizing to move my Daddy either home if possible or to a warming station. Mayor Isley and his wife, Lynda got involved and before I knew it Daddy was tucked warm and safe into the Methodist Church in Springville. He was provided with warm food and a cot and a hot breakfast this morning.

Like Adlai Stevens said – our globe has shrunken – even more so in this day of instant news, Skype, tablets, smartphones, texts, emails and social networking. We can let that consume our lives and let it isolate it from our families or, we can use it as a valuable tool and use it to do what Mr. Stevens said – to no longer live like strangers. I prefer to do the latter.

I also like the advice another Man gave us in the Good Book. He said, “Love your neighbor as yourself. There is no greater commandment than these.” Mark 12:31 NIV

Neighbors, here’s a really big thank you and a really big God Bless my neighbors.

Front Porch B snow 1-28-2014

© 2014 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

6 Comments

Filed under Alabama, Daddy, Neighbors, Photography, Picture of the Day, Quote of the Day, Snow in AL, Springville AL, The Great Snow Dusting of 2014

6 responses to “Men Can No Longer Live as Strangers, by Beverly Hicks Burch

  1. Thankful Oak is safe and warm! I am sure it never entered his mind that he could possibly get stranded ANYWHERE!!! That’s how folks like us think!!! Blessings…..Betty Fritts

    • Betty,

      I’m sure you’re right, although Daddy did admit to thinking he might not be able to make it back up the mountain as he was going down the mountain. I know it made for one busy and worried daughter and son-in-law last night. When I found out he planned on “riding it out in his Durango” I was ready to take my blow dryer and melt the ice one inch at a time to get down there to him just so I could ask, “Daddy, really?!”

      But, I know you know how us Scotch-Irish-German-Cherokee are. Reggie has a saying – “oh, this is ugly”. To most people that would translate to – “OH MY GOSH THIS IS A DISASTER!” And I’m sandwiched between them – isn’t life grand ;-)

      I beleive he had roast beef last night, a cot to sleep on and a hot breakfast this morning. And, now he’s home with his meds. So, alls well that ends well.

      Next, threat of snow -we will call Daddy with a reminder ;-)

      Hugs,
      Bev

  2. Shari Alexander

    Bev, I love to read your stories. I am so glad your dad is okay and grateful for the help that was provided. It truly is special to have that support. Love you girl. Miss you

    • Thanks, Shari. I’ll keep trying to keep the stories coming ;-) I was telling someone about Kramer and the wax warmer just the other day.

      Daddy gave me and T & H a real scare. I thought I was going to get to see him put on his cowboy boots and ride down the mountain.

      Miss you bunches. I tell ya girl – it’s time for a quilt retreat to Chez Bev. Love you, too.

  3. Marlayne

    Bev those are beautiful photos, super description of what is happening, I can ‘see’ your wheels turning and totally understood ‘being the first child.’ :)
    I’m thankful you had the ability (electricity still) to contact people who could help your father out. Bless all of you for your love and caring! Miss talking with you.

    • Marlayne, we’ll just have to do something about that! I was thinking about that myself. If you are like me the holidays were crazy and things and things have continued so. I suspected it had been the same for you.

      Marlayne, I wish you could see the carnage on the interstates here! 1000s of abandoned vehicles. It looks like a Hollywood disaster movie zone. We were so fortunate Daddy’s situation turned out like it did. Like I said, I love my community!

Leave a Reply

