genealogy, Hobbies

About Roots…Families, by Beverly Hicks Burch

I thought you might be interested in seeing a little bit of what I’ve written on one of my genealogy websites. I recently had to write an introduction for the website and this is what I wrote…

Welcome to the Hicks-Burch Family website…from Tennessee to New Mexico and back! Within its borders you will find the families, roots and origins of Bev’s McGee/Hicks families and Reggie’s Allison/Burch families. Reggie and I merged our two families on 30 Dec. 2003 in Hamilton, AL on the joyous occasion of our marriage.

You may be surprised to know the above surnames are not the only 4 family names you will encounter. Keep in mind that in genealogy, as you go back each generation, the number of direct ancestors you have doubles. Confused? Don’t be, it’s really quite simple! You have 2 parents, 4 grandparents, 8 great-grandparents, 16 great-great-grandparents, 32 great-great-great-grandparents…you get the point. Now, each one of those individuals has a different surname (or last name as we commonly call them)…unless of course your from east Tennessee and then you might have some kissing cousins in there!

Roots are funny, interesting things. Before my disabilities limited my activities, I was known to get my hands dirty…with real dirt. I gardened…not yard work…but gardened. Probably not many of you know I almost have an “A” degree in horticulture. Anyway, I learned about roots while working with plants. There are different types of roots. Some roots are shallow…they run on the surface…they’re not very deep…an azalea comes to mind. Other roots run deep and are strong, like some trees…or have taproots…like that dandelion you can’t get rid of in your yard. Well, Reggie’s roots are surprisingly Southern. The Burch family migrated from Georgia to Texas and later to New Mexico. The Allison family seems to have originated in South Carolina and migrated later to Arkansas, Oklahoma and on to New Mexico. So, I guess we could say Reggie’s roots are like that azalea or even better a vine…they ran across the ground and spread out in several directions. My family on the other hand is purely southern. We tend to stay put once we get where we’re going…once we got to the good ol’ USA. We have taproots. So roots can be deceiving. (I’ve often jokingly said that’s what happened to my first marriage. My ex seemed to have thought his family spontaneously procreated on southern soil. There was big trouble in little China when I found out that his family were carpetbaggers from Pennsylvania who came south to Tennessee after the War Between the States. Things were just never the same…those darn carpetbaggers! )

Anyway, jump in and enjoy the site and add your two cents!!

So…that was it…the introduction to one of my genealogy websites. Hopefully, I’ll be able to do some genealogical blogging here, too. I look forward to the possibilities. If you have any questions related to genealogy, please feel free to leave a comment. Like quilting, it’s another passion of my life.

© 2007 Beverly Hicks Burch All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

