Thai Penicillin, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Thai Penicillin

By Beverly Hicks Burch

I may be Southern, but there’s one thing you can say about Bev…she like a diverse range of ethnic food. Tex-Mex, Mexican, Italian, Greek, Chinese, Lebanese, Indian and I’m sure there are others. Several years ago I was introduced to Thai food…and I fell in love. I really prefer Thai spring roll to Chinese egg rolls. I think my favorite taste in Thai food is anything cooked with coconut milk. Repeat after me…YUM!

Tall & Handsome and I have both been sick…coughing, fever, itchy eyes…not a good way to feel when it’s 90+ degrees outside. Of course, while he’s been homesick, he’s been doing his fair share of Food Network watching. The other day we were watching Paula Deen and she was cooking Thai! Yes, that Southern gal was cooking exotic Thai! We are a diverse breed…

Anyway, the sicker we got, my mind screamed, “Jewish Penicillin” which we all know is good ol’ Chicken Soup. I decided to try something new “Thai Penicillin”…Coconut Soup…which has a chicken broth base. Last night I cooked us up a pot of Coconut Soup using a version of Paula’s recipe. I’ve made Coconut Soup before…with a different recipe. I’ll give you both. For dessert I made Thai Fried Bananas…umm…umm..umm.

After dinner, T & H took my hand, kissed it, looked me in the eyes and said, “Honey, thank you for dinner. That was very tasty.” Oh…we were breathing better, too…now, how much better can it get than that?

© 2007 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, food, Soup, Tall & Handsome, The Story Behind...

Leave a Reply

