"New Mexico", Cooking, food, recipes, Tall & Handsome, The Story Behind..., Vegetables

I Think I Found It…, by Beverly Hicks Burch

I Think I Found It…

By Beverly Hicks Burch

Remember a few days ago I shared a new recipe with you I was anxious to try? It was the New Mexico Spoon Bread. Of course the bread has chopped green chilies in it and in the lead up to the recipe, I shared a little of Tall and Handsome and my history with you. With a native New Mexican in the house, I’m always looking for new and diverse ways to enhance our green chili consumption…no, we are not mere mortals…we must ingest this treat like Turkish delight least we turn to desert stone…

Anyway…I was trying to determine what I would serve with this bread. At first, I thought about Posole, but, then after discussing it with T & H, we decided we liked the hot buttered flour tortillas with Posole too much. So, the search continued for the perfect dinner companion for the savory morsel of New Mexico Spoon Bread.

Well, I think I found it! Today I was going through some magazines in preparation for a move…deciding what to keep and what to throw out, when by mere kismet I came upon this recipe. I can’t wait for the weather to finally turn cool…to get that first good, cool, crisp edge of autumn in the air! Because when it does, I’m bringing out my stockpot and making a big pot of this and a pan of New Mexico Spoon Bread to go along with it.

Yee-haw cowboy! Come on cool weather! I can’t wait…

Hope yall enjoy, too…

© 2007 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

