Animals, Bats, Fun, Histoplasmosis, Home Inspection, House buying, Humor, Photography, Tall & Handsome, Women's health

Bats in My Belfry…or How the Home Inspection Went, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Bats in My Belfry…or How the Home Inspection Went

By Beverly Hicks Burch

Well, home inspection day came and went on Saturday. It’s a pretty standard procedure in the home buying process and if any of you are HGTV viewers, you have probably seen buyers go through the dreaded home inspection. Many wait with baited breath to see if something will be found on this day that will be a “deal breaker”.

On one show I saw a young couple was buying an old Victorian home. On inspection day they discovered the home had wiring problems and an exterior wall that was bulging out and going to cost several tens of thousands of dollars to repair. I call that a deal breaker. They went ahead and bought the home even though it was way above their budget and the wife had to take two extra jobs in addition to the job she already had to buy that house. Their mortgage payment was going to be several bazillion dollars…I’ve often wondered how they’re doing in today’s mortgage market crunch.

Anyway, our inspection took about two hours to complete. He went top to bottom, inside and out. Tall and Handsome tagged along at times and asked a few questions, and I pitched a few in, too…mainly how to convert the fireplace back into a wood burning fireplace. Easy I discovered. This is a wood burner that had gas logs put in…but, the gas just goes up the flue…

At the end of the inspection, the inspector, KB, went over what he found. He was impressed with the house over all. Mostly what he found was minor. He saved to the best for last and I knew it was going to be good when he looked at me and had a glint in his eye and a faint smile on his lips. He was trying to break it to me gently and as non-alarmist as he could.

“One last little thing. I found a bat in one of the eave vents in the attic. There’s a wire there that will prevent him from getting in for now, but he needs to be removed for health reasons. Bat urine and feces can build up and cause health problems.”

Augh! No kidding…it had already caused me a health problem called “crawling flesh”! I am not enamored with bats as a lot of people are. Yeah, I know they are supposed to have a lot of great qualities, but, I DO NOT CARE! Especially when mentioned in the same sentence with URINE and FECES.

Bats can leave behind a really big pile of bat poop and that in turn will draw roaches and mites and a really skanky smell. I don’t know about you, but I sure don’t want that for my new, old or ANY place. Bats can carry rabies and histoplasmosis, an airborne disease cause by a soil fungus. This disease affects the lungs and can by misdiagnosed as tuberculosis. With the health problems and autoimmune system I have, the last thing I need is a bat hanging around.

The good news is there are people that make really big money out there removing bats from people’s property. I think their name is van Helsing. Just kidding…

The one in our soon to be attic WILL be removed. I just hope we move in before or after October 31st. Somehow moving in on that day just seems…wrong…

© 2007 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

3 thoughts on “Bats in My Belfry…or How the Home Inspection Went, by Beverly Hicks Burch”

Leave a Reply

