Cookbooks, Humor, Moving, Photography, Southerners, Tall & Handsome

His, Mine & Ours – Part 1, by Beverly Hicks Burch

His, Mine & Ours – Part 1

By Beverly Hicks Burch

his-mine-ours-part-1.jpgHere’s a picture of a little bit of the fruit of my labor of the last few days.

This is a bookcase I’ve decided to use in the kitchen to house cookbooks…his, mine and ours. Yes, you read it right. Tall & Handsome had his own prior to the merging of our bodies and souls in matrimony and of course, being the true Southern girl that I am, I had my own. We have also started a blended family of cookbooks we lovingly call “ours”.

Now, you would think from looking at the shelves lined with cookbook after cookbook this would be all there is, but I have one thing to say about that…are you crazy?! I don’t know where the rest are at the moment…are even where I am going to artfully and of course tastefully place them.

I suggested to T & H that maybe we should place a moratorium on cookbook buying, but his response was less than positive. It was more along the lines of, “Are you crazy?!” See, I picked the habit up… I did suggest that maybe we sell and/or eBay some of them to which he was totally agreeable. I think he wants to get rid of the one he used that had that recipe of guacamole that used tofu instead of avocado. Yum…ewww! What was the man thinking?! That’s right up there on my want to try list with School Paste Pate Finger Sandwiches. Cut the crust off the bread and no one will ever no the difference…

The big green case is full of recipe cards and the two round containers are treat cans for the pets. There is one cookbook on the second visible shelf that was my Mom’s when she was a young gal starting out…it’s the book missing it’s spine. That cookbook is well, I won’t tell you how old, but she used to make brownies from a recipe in it when I was a wee lass. There’s even a family story that goes with those brownies…and I’ll tell you that story…some day.

But, for now…here’s to the fruits of my labor…and where in the world will the rest go?

© Beverly Hicks Burch 2007 All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

