Taste of a Marathon, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Taste of a Marathon

By Beverly Hicks Burch

As if I didn’t already have enough to do I’ve taken on a new little project. Recently a friend told me about a website where writers gather. Consider it your smoky avant garde club of days gone by or the Left Bank or any other gathering spot where writers, artist and other like minded people gathered to share their thoughts, trade ideas and what not. That was in the “old” days…before high tech and high speed internet. We have arrived now, baby!

The bonus of this gathering place is just maybe…maybe one of the publishers who occasionally frequent the site and post writing assignments will read one of yours and it will be chosen. Viola, you’ve been discovered! On a very small level of course…

So, I’ve written a few “articles” over there and thought I would share them with you. They haven’t done too badly…oh, and the rewards for the sweat of my brow?

Five cents. I can now buy a piece of bubblegum. You can say you knew Bev when…haha…

This article was written in response of the assignment: Great gift ideas for men who cook. Think I have any experience there? The article debuted in the middle of the field and is now sitting at 5 out of 23.

My next article was written in response to: Cancer and surviving. Again, a topic I have a little experience dealing with. It entered the field around 30ish out of its field and is now 2 out of 77.

The next article is a hoot. I wrote it on a lark. The subject? Women in role-playing games/Role playing & War games. It was under the Hobbies & Games category. Yes, Bev is a gamer…no, I’m not a freak. I wrote the article, it entered middle of the field and it is now 1 out of 13. Go figure…

The other two are more health related. One on the physical causes of depression that actually stayed at number one for a bit, but has fallen down in the ranks and another one on the connection between sleep deprivation and mental illness. So far it’s doing ok at 3.

Anyway, if you’re interested in these articles, I’ve provided the links. They’ll give you a different perspective on some of Bev’s writing.

© 2008 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under cancer, Cooking, Gaming, Health, Writing

Leave a Reply

