Chinese Food; Lettuce wraps, Cooking, food, Life, Mothers, recipes, Tall & Handsome, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Welcome to B. F. Burch’s…or

Welcome to B. F. Burch’s…or “Let

us” Wrap It Up,

By Beverly Hicks Burch

Who you may be asking is B. F. Burch? Well, me of course!

You see when my mother was a young slip of a thing, she decided she would name three daughters Faith, Hope and Charity…I’m the Faith of the bunch and the sisters are Hope and Charity. I’ve teased Mom for years and said if we had been boys we would have been Matthew, Mark, Luke and John…

So, am I writing about names today? Nope! Read on…

From time to time Tall and Handsome and his co-workers participate in dinner after work with the client. And being the thoughtful, sweet hubby he is, he usually calls and brings me something home for dinner…his dime, of course. He’ll tell me where he’s at and if the place has an internet menu I’m able to look it over and decide what I want as if I was there.

Not too long ago T & H, a group of co-workers and the client went to a fairly well known Chinese eatery. They have an internet menu, so I was able to pick what I wanted and T & H brought it home.

On item he brought me was something I’ve wanted to try for some time…lettuce wraps. I have one word to say…Yum!

Well, of course that sent T & H and me on a quest…to make lettuce wraps at home…but, just not any lettuce wraps. We wanted great lettuce wraps. T & H found some pre-packaged filling at the store and it wasn’t bad and it will do in a pinch…but, we still wanted something with that extra oomph…

Research hound (me) went into mode and I found a recipe and “Bevized” it and we prepared in Sunday night after a weekend of unpacking and shaping up the house. There was enough left over for dinner Monday night. We are a team of course and all of the above is done with my favorite “team mate”…Tall & Handsome…

Most of the “work” in the lettuce wraps is in the pre-time, but after that they come together in a breeze. One of the “Bevizing” additions was to add walnuts for the added health benefits and added crunch.

In 1980 I took a Chinese cooking class with my sister at UAB (University of Alabama at Birmingham). I purchased a bonafide wok at the beginning of the class, and the addition of our pot rack has given me easy access to this old friend…it is well used and shows it. If you don’t have a wok, you can stir this up in a large skillet.

B. F. Burch’s Lettuce Wraps

By Beverly (Faith) Hicks Burch

1 tablespoon oil – you can use a vegetable oil like canola or a peanut oil which would add an extra Asian touch

1 medium onion, finely chopped

2 teaspoons – 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, finely chopped

1 pound ground chicken

½ teaspoon kosher salt

¼ teaspoon ground pepper

¼ cup finely chopped fresh mushrooms

1 teaspoon minced garlic

¼ cup finely chopped bamboo shoots

¼ cup chopped walnuts

1- 8 0z. can water chestnuts, finely chopped

¾ cup Hoisin/chicken broth sauce (see below)

2 – 3 dashes hot Chinese chili paste/sauce

Lime wedges

In a wok or large skillet heat oil on high until hot. Add onions and ginger and cook until the onions are translucent.

Next add the chicken and cook until the chicken is lightly brown. When browned, season with the salt and pepper.

Add the mushrooms and cook them until they are tender.

Add garlic, bamboo shoots, walnuts and water chestnuts and stir fry about 1 – 2 minutes.

Add ¾ cup Hoisin/chicken broth sauce and 2 – 3 dashes Chinese hot chili paste. Cook until mixture boils.

Serve with cold, crisp lettuce leaves. Spoon desired amount of mixture onto the center on a lettuce leaf. Spoon some Hoisin/chicken broth sauce over the filling and squeeze some fresh lime juice onto the mixture. Roll up the lettuce leaf and enjoy!

Sauce:

4 tablespoons Hoisin sauce

4 tablespoons soy sauce (I use low sodium)

4 tablespoons dry sherry

4 tablespoons oyster sauce

4 teaspoons sesame seed oil

4 teaspoon cornstarch

1 cup chicken broth, you can use low – fat, low – sodium, etc.

Combine all ingredients and mix well. ¾ cup will be used in cooking the chicken filling and the remainder will be used for dipping sauce or to spoon over the filling of the lettuce wraps.

Enjoy!!

© 2008 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

