A Little Heat in the Kitchen, by Beverly Hicks Burch

A Little Heat in the Kitchen

By Beverly Hicks Burch

I was pleasantly surprised the other day to get a response on one of my blogs from a fellow former student of Thanh Maring. Betty had taken one of Thanh’s Chinese cooking classes down at UAB about the same time I did. Over time…and a few moves…she had lost some of her recipes and she wanted to know if I might have Thanh’s Mongolian Beef recipe.

Well, T & H and I were in the middle of a couple of projects, but I promised Betty I would go through my Chinese recipes and see what I had…and sure enough, I had a Mongolian Beef recipe.

Although I don’t recall preparing this in many, many, many…did I say many years (mainly because hot food burns my mouth because of Sjogren’s. I’m sure you could adjust the heat of this recipe by adjusting the amount of red pepper.).

Mongolian Beef as we know it is probably another one of the “Chinese-American” dishes. The natives of Mongolia were nomads. The true food of the region was based on dairy products and meat of the nomads. Yes, this included their camels, horses, yaks and goats. I don’t know about you, but I’ve never ordered Mongolian Yak or Kung Pau Camel, so I guess, Mongolian Beef is more marketable in the USA!

With the red pepper in this recipe, this recipe reminds me more of Szechuan cuisine which is characterized by spicy, hot ingredients.

Either way…I hope you enjoy the recipe if you give it a try!

© 2008 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

