Cooking, Diverticulitis, food, Gomez, Health, Pasta, Salads, Tall & Handsome

Salad Days, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Salad Days

By Beverly Hicks Burch

If I could pick one of my most favorite foods it would be salad. I could eat is almost anytime, anyway.

Of course there are times it can bother your tummy if you have certain health problems…and at times, I’ve paid for my indulgence in my love of the green.

There are ways to avoid certain problems though. For instance, if you have diverticulitis, you can seed certain vegetables that would cause problems like tomatoes and cucumbers. Sometimes peeling vegetables can reduce stomach discomfort. It’s awful if your favorite (and healthy) food and cause discomfort, but for some of us it’s an unfortunate fact of life…but, there are ways to accommodate and adapt.

During the salad bar days I enjoyed loading my salads up with fresh ingredients like carrots, onions, lettuce, tomatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, beets and then add sunflower seeds and raisins. Gomez on the other hand usually had a little lettuce with his plate full of grated cheese, chopped meats, chopped boiled egged and Thousand Island dressing…it was a strange pile of yellow and orange…

A few years ago I received a calendar from Kraft. By the way, you can go to Kraft’s website and sign up with them and create a personal recipe box and receive a quarterly food magazine from them…free! Not too long ago when Tall and Handsome and I were unpacking I found the calendar and as I was flipping through it came upon this pasta salad that made our taste buds perk up with interest. Of course, as with most recipes, I “finagled” of “Bevized” this one just a tad and we felt like it added more flavor.

The salad can be served warm of cold…make a ton and is easy to make. It’s just right for summer, too.

Hope you enjoy Bev’s Version of Spinach and Bacon Pasta Toss!

© 2008 Beverly Hicks Burch All Right Reserved.

Leave a Reply

