Diary Quilt; Y2K; The BamaSteelMagnolia(TM) Diaries, Family, Gomez, New Year, Tall & Handsome, Writing

The BamaSteelMagnolia(TM) Diaries – Introduction, by Beverly Hicks Burch

The BamaSteelMagnolia™ Diaries


Introduction


By Beverly Hicks Burch

Well, 2009 is here! First, I would like to wish everyone a Happy New Year! The last month has been extremely busy and hectic for me. I still don’t know why I opted to take two classes this session…anyway…that’s all over and done…

I have to admit the fact this decade is almost over still blows my mind. Think about it…it’s been 10 whole years since the world was in Y2K meltdown. People were afraid the world as we knew it was going to end.

Our cars, ATM’s and everything else with even a smidgen of computer technology were going to shut down on midnight December 31, 1999. Just because we would be entering the year 2000, people were afraid computers would not be able to read the date and cease to function and the globe would be thrown into chaos! (My question was: If a computer was that dumb, why the heck were we putting so much faith and stock in them to begin with and letting them run so much or our lives?)

People were stockpiling non-perishable food, purchasing guns and ammo, and running out to buy generators. Society seemed to be in survivalist mode… My ex was one of those…he went out and purchased a gasoline generator then he proceeded to let it sit in the box it came home from the store in until after he left the family. In November 2001 a tornado damaged my home…and pulled the power lines totally off the house.

My brother-in-law and sister drove up the mountain so Bob could take it out of the box and hook up it for me so I’d have some power and not loose what little food I had in the refrigerator. Funny thing is, later, Gomez, the ex, demanded the judge in the divorce award him the generator because he said he needed it to make a living. The man worked in electrical engineering as an electrical designer…guess he needed to crank up that electric eraser of his or maybe CAD. NO…I did not call him a cad…I said C-A-D…computer automated drafting/design software. (Of course, what I thought is an entirely different story…)

Anyway…it IS 2009, a date our ancestors could not even begin to imagine…

As 2008 closed, I took on a new project. I am teaching Tall & Handsome to quilt. Yes, men CAN and DO quilt! This isn’t the first guy I’ve taught to quilt either. T & H originally entered college as an art major and as I’ve mentioned before, did some work in stain glass. It seemed a given he would see it as another creative outlet…and as I told him, as hard as he works, a creative outlet would recharge him.

His first project is one we’re doing together and combines pieces of both our heritages. I plan on writing about that and sharing pictures we took during the process. But, that too, is another story…

I have to tell you I’ve been impressed with his potential and ability, comprehension and in some places eye for detail. He’s determined, too, as in “I want to learn to thread this machine myself…”

One of the things we had to do was get him some tools of his own…small scissors, needle safe, pins…you know general stuff. Sewing machine needles with large eyes were a must have…that camel just wasn’t going through that eye…at least not as long as he was threading. I’ve always said we make one good set of eyes…he can see distances…I can see close up.

So, on New Year’s Day 2009 off we go to the local fabric store that’s holding a mammer-jammer sale…as in 50% or more off many items and we had a coupon for an additional 10% off EVERYTHING! If you know any quilters, you know a sale like that is like yelling fire in a theater…we’re off and running!

One item I was drawn to and became really excited about was a book (yes, of course it went into my cart!). The book is called A Quilter’s Diary: Written in Stitches, by Mimi Dietrich. Mimi’s idea is to “write” you life story in stitches…using quilt blocks. The book is full of different blocks (all 6 inches) you can use to write you life story. I immediately saw the appeal…as a quilter, as a writer and as a genealogist. A challenge I’ve given myself is to use as much of the fabric needed for the project from my burgeoning stash…

There are many blocks I seem drawn to because they represent or signify something, someone or an event in my life. My creative juices went into overdrive and I began to plan my Diary Quilt. I was immediately struck with the idea of how each block I finish would help me write about pieces in my life…yes, an aid to a written diary of such. So, while it may not be the book many of you have said I should write…it will be a book of sorts…The BamaSteelMagnolia™ Diaries…

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

