Arizona, Birmingham AL, Diary Quilt, Gooseberry Falls MN, Grand Canyon, Hawaii, Knoxville, Lighthouses, New York City, Photography, Quilt Block, Quilt Blocks, Southwest, Tall & Handsome, Tennessee, Travel, World Trade Towers

The BamaSteelMagnolia(TM) Diaries – Chapter 3: Compass or Where in the World is Bev? by Beverly Hicks Burch

The BamaSteelMagnolia™ Diaries –

Chapter 3: Compass…or Where in the

World is Bev?

By Beverly Hicks Burch

What’s your idea of adventure? I realize the idea or concept of adventure is relative to each individual. To some a few dashes of habanera sauce over their food or going mustang one day when they forgot to wash their underwear (translate: they venture out the front door sans underwear ^-^…oh, yeah, it happens) is adventurous.

Now, I’ve never considered myself a particularly adventurous person. I guess because I view adventure as jumping out of an airplane with a thin piece of fabric between me and death (some call it skydiving); or jumping off a tall building or bridge with a big rubber band tied around my ankles as adventurous (some call that bungee jumping); or spelunking…you know crawling around in small, dark, damp, bug and bat filled caves as adventurous and fun…and I just don’t have an inclination in going in those places…EVER…and that’s why I’ve never view myself as adventurous.

So you can imagine my surprise when my Momma told me one time she thought I was adventurous. I was as the British say, gobsmacked.

It happened back in January of 1988. My paternal grandmother had just passed away. Versie, or Mamaw as I called her, and Mom to her boys, was one of a kind…and sometimes that “kind” was like a stubborn ol’ mule. She definitely liked being noticed and sometimes she wouldn’t stop short of antics to attract attention.

Well, in typical Versie fashion, Mamaw passed away during one of the worse winter storms in our “neck of the woods”. Oh yeah, we’re talking bitter cold, ice and snow…remember we’re talking the South where most of the time we’re not prepared to deal with the powdery, icy stuff.

Just the “S” word causes marathon bread and milk lines in the grocery stores and school closings. An inch of winter wonderland will shut a city down…and with this particular storm we were talking several inches and roads that looked like ancient glaciers. Yep, Versie would garner a lot of hoopla getting her family together for her final farewell.

You see, Daddy was still working in project management for Rust Engineering in Birmingham, AL. At the time he was running two jobs in Broward County, FL and he was on the job site in sunny, snow free Florida when word came. Mamaw was not doing well and, finally had not made it through her final crisis.

Daddy set about immediately trying to line up a flight from southern Florida back to East Tennessee were Mamaw had been living. The weather was so bad many airports were closed and when Daddy finally was able to get a flight headed North that just might get him to East Tennessee, well, it was via Pennsylvania. No kidding.

Then on top of that, his luggage was lost by the airline…floating around in airline Hades. When Daddy touched down outside of Knoxville all he had was the clothes on his back and all you snowbirds know, sunny Florida wear just won’t hack it during the frigid breath of Old Man Winter.

Well, Momma being the true Steel Magnolia she is just wasn’t going to stand her man being out there in that condition…Old Man Winter didn’t know who he was facing. Momma packed up some warm cloths for Daddy, called me and let me know my Daddy needed us urgently. The family snowball was rolling downhill like a steam engine. (Of course we would have gone for the services you silly goose! But, that was later, this was NOW!)

At the time I was a “minivan” mom. We loaded up my minivan with Momma, my disabled younger sister, my ex (Gomez is his code name for my writing), my son and me and we headed out at the blistering speed of a snail pace! Hand to God, I kid you not…

You see, we were driving on big sheets of ice or as I fondly (no, I wouldn’t say hysterically) called them…glaciers. I sat in the third back seat of the van, feeling every slip and slide the van made, saw cars as we passed them lodged in ditches where they had spun off the road and I was white knuckled every time we passed a monster 18 wheeler.

As some point, I must have muttered something like, “I hope we don’t end up as ink spots under the 18 wheels of a big truck” because I heard my little Momma say, “Why, Bev I thought you were adventurous.”

“Huh? What does dieing under the wheels of a truck have to do with being adventurous, Mom? Why on Earth do you say I’m adventurous?”

“Because you like to travel.”

Well, there it is folks…maybe I am adventurous because I do like to travel. So, there’s adventure spelled “Bev” style and the reason I chose the Compass block for The BamaSteelMagnolia™ Diary Quilt.

Compass

Compass Block – The BamaSteelMagnolia Diary Quilt

I guess I do have a little bit of wanderlust in me and I love to see how the “other half” lives. Sometimes I’d like to pretend I was a raven hair gypsy with big gold hoop earrings and a “traveling wagon” just going across the world seeing this big wonderful Earth that God created. I even love to travel by car…

I’m the type that enjoys the trip as much as the destination. Sometimes I think air travel hampers that, especially nowadays. Air travel is no longer “glamorous”. I think air travel has actually created “flying cattle”. I had the “privilege” to experience that first hand recently. But I digress…

I’ve seen some wonderful things and have been some wonderful places. I value the Creation, i.e., the beauty of our World just as much as anything man-made…and many times more so. Memories are burnt into my mind and can never be robbed from me by anyone…only time or age, but they are memories of places I will always cherish.

I would be hard pressed to name just one favorite…would it be standing on Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park in Maine breathing in the surreal view of the North Atlantic, sitting at a sidewalk café in old Quebec City? Watching bison in North and South Dakota? Standing in awe at Mount Rushmore? Smelling the sulfur as it filtered past my nostrils as I gazed out over the vast caldera at Volcano National Park in Hawaii?

Dancing Bev May 1991

Did Bev have fun in Hawaii?

Trying to comprehend the unbelievable vastness of Lake Superior, driving Cabot Trail in Nova Scotia? Watching the glow during the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta, or seeing in person the wonder of the mysterious stairway in Loretta Chapel in Santa Fe? And which lighthouse do I say, “This is my favorite one.” Oh, no that’s an impossible task, but I will never forget climbing the spiral staircase of Split Rock Light in Minnesota as the smell of burning birch wood wafted up towards me.

Bev Gooesberry Falls MN June 1987

Bev at Gooseberry Falls, MN ca 1987

Heavenly! Will I even forget the view of New York Harbor from Miss Liberty? No, who would?!

Bev & Pam in NY Nov. 1983

Bev & Pam, my sister, on Liberty Island, ca 1983 – note the Trade Towers over my shoulder

One experience I am so very thankful for is the privilege of being able to stand atop one of the World Trade Towers in the observation deck and view Manhattan and the surrounding area as the sun went down and the lights in the City sprang to life. I will NEVER be able to have that experience again, it is lost in history. Unfortunately there are generations of Americans who will never have that opportunity either…that is a tragedy…

In January I had the opportunity to do something on my “things to do before I die” list…or as it’s called nowadays, the “bucket list”. It has been a lifelong goal and dream of mine to visit the Grand Canyon. Tall and Handsome and I took some time to do that last month, and it’s a trip we will never forget.

We just had a weekend, but we are soooo glad we went, and we enjoyed the way we visited. You see he was in Arizona on business for a couple of weeks, but had a free weekend. He was at the offices in Tucson and Scottsdale. I shared a few pictures from there…”rooms with a view” type things previously in my blogs.

Well, that Friday when he left work we drove north to a little town called Williams, AZ where we stayed overnight. Believe me when I tell you…there is a big difference in temperature. Down in Tucson and Scottsdale if the temp fell below 70, the heat was cranked up big time! This Southern girl thought she would DIE. I mean that it sleeve weather and open window weather where I come from!

But, as we drove north we began to see that aforementioned white stuff…yeah, snow! And, boy did it get colder…

Williams is about an hour from the Grand Canyon, but we opted to take the train from Williams right to the village on the South Rim. It was such a neat and novel experience and I would recommend you try it at least once. Once we arrived at the South Rim, we were right there…and the tour company had a tour bus lined up for us. The tour took us along the South rim for some breathtaking views of the Canyon.

I can not tell you what it was like to see it for the first time. T & H and I both agreed it was almost emotional. It was stunning, it was breathtaking… I’ve come to the conclusion there isn’t a superlative or adjective big enough to fit the Canyon. One of my first thought was, “How can you look at this and not realize there is Something, Someone bigger than man?” We both agreed that we hope we never become too jaded to appreciate the wonderment of this kind of natural beauty.

It will leave you speechless

Every View You Speechless

The eye never tires of these views

You Never Tire of These Views

Clouds were moving in from the left

A Walk in the (Snow) Clouds

Look close and see the mighty Colordo River

Can You See the Colorado River?

Don't ask - I don't think I could get my mouth to do that again if I tried

I DO NOT Know How I Got My Mouth to Do That! T & H said he looks like a Mighty Whitey…it was Sooooo Cold and Windy

Meet the engine up close

Our Homeward Bound Engine

It was cold while we were there (actually the best time for me to be there given my health problems and how badly heat affects me). Highs were in the 40’s and 30’s and the lows were in the teens. Yes, there was snow in spots and places and the forecast called for more. As we looked out across the wind swept mouth of the Canyon, I remember watching as the clouds grazed the Northern Rim and I thought, “We’re walking in the clouds”. (The elevation was over 7,000 feet and that was an experience in itself for a two time lung cancer survivor!)

We were taken to our lodge and after eating we both were so exhausted we collapsed into bed. I wanted to be ready for the next day…wanting to capture as much as I could before we had to catch the train back.

We were greeted the next morning with snow flurries as we made our farewell round in the Village at the South Rim. We caught shuttle buses to take us around to the shops, wandered through the lobby of the El Tovar which sat right on the South Rim and then left the warmth of the fireplace to brave the brisk wind and spitting snow to walk over to the Hopi House.

And then, to the Rim for a few final glimpses…last looks just to burn into memory the views, the colors of this National treasure…I had a hard time tearing myself away…

We went on to the train depot, and as the train gently carried us south, my tired body and mind tried to take in everything I had just seen.

So, there it is…adventure BamaSteelMagnolia style…and the very reason for the Compass block. There is no way that block would be left out of my diary quilt. My points my not be quite as sharp as they were years ago before illness started taking effect, but my thought on that? C’est la vie! So what?! My points and quilting are a lot like the travel I love so dearly…I love the trip as much as the destination or end result…

Now, if only that Compass would tell me where I’m going next…

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

