I’m a Little Teapot…, by Beverly Hicks Burch

I’m a Little Teapot…

By Beverly Hicks Burch

I might have mentioned it before, but I have a shared “affliction” with my little Momma…one she actually passed on to me. That affliction is a love of dishes and a desire to “collect” dishes. As Daddy says we have a lot of plunder in that department, but boy can we lay a spread!

I have my everyday dishes and I have my everyday Christmas dishes we start using Thanksgiving. It’s a rule these dishes must be used every day until after my birthday which is shortly after the first of the New Year. Then there’s the good china…and the Christmas china.

And, then there are the teapots…another “affliction” acquired from Momma twofold and if I’m not mistaken shared with my middle sister. Twofold because it seems we all like hot tea…my favorite is a rooibos tea…yum yum…

Well, when Tall & Handsome and I married I added another “collection” to my burgeoning dish cupboard. Being the southwestern guy that he is, T & H had a few pieces of Fiestaware. The pieces in his collection were all white and being the lover of color, I couldn’t help but start adding a few colored pieces here and there. Of course the collection grew…and the surprising thing is the Fiestaware mixes and matches really well with my every day dishes.

A couple of weeks ago Momma called me after she and Daddy had taken a trip up to Boaz, AL. Now in its day Boaz was a thriving outlet town, but many of the outlets have moved out…a real shame especially for the local economy. In some of the empty retail spaces vendors have set up collectible businesses. One this particular trip Momma couldn’t resist browsing one such shop…and she came away with a goodie for me…a Fiestaware teapot in one of the colors I had been adding to our collection. I got to bring the little treasure home after a recent visit to my folks…and it’s a real cutie! I’d never seen one like it.

The other day when I was taking pictures of the Fiestaware T & H said, “Honey, you’ve done a good job a building up the Fiestaware.” Well, I’ll have to say…I had a little help…thanks, Momma…

Fiestaware teapot

Fiestaware Teapot from my little Momma

Teapot lid deatil

Detail – Teapot Lid…very cute…

Fiestaware pitcher & teapot

Fiestaware Water Pitcher and Teapot

Fiestaware salt & pepper

Fiestaware Large Salt & Pepper Shakers

Fiestaware rimmed soup bowl

Fiestaware Rimmed Soup Bowl

Fiestaware collection

The Fiestaware Collection

Teapots

My Teapots – The one of the far right is a reproduction of a Chinese hobnail (I’m not sure if they still make it in the black); the small blue teapot has a white version available currently

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under Collections, Daddy, Dishes, Fiestaware, Mothers, Mountains, Photography, Tall & Handsome, Tea

Leave a Reply

