Birmingham AL, Crepe Myrtles, Horticulture, Photography

Visitors and Trees, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Back in 1996 when Atlanta hosted the Olympics, Birmingham hosted some of the venues for the Olympics. It was during that time, Birmingham like Atlanta did a major “spruce up” and face lift to welcome visitors. Of course one way to do that is to landscape.

I don’t know if it was during that time or back when I was taking horticulture in college, but I seem to recall that the Crepe Myrtle (Lagerstroemia) is the official tree of the city of Birmingham (AL).

Over the years I’ve tended to many of these little trees myself. I’m quite fond of them for various reasons not the least of which is the little visitors they draw. This morning I was out on my folks patio and I was gazing out at their back yard. Last time I visited I captured pics of four legged critters visiting. I couldn’t help but notice Mom’s Crepe Myrtle is in full bloom…and luring little visitors. Look closely in the last picture and see if you can find “Waldo”.

Offical Tree of Birmingham

Crepe Myrtle

Little Visitor

Look closely and find a little visitor buzzing around the Crepe Myrtle…a Bumble Bee

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

