Alabama, Birmingham AL, Photography, Snow, Snow in AL, Weather

Yes, Virginia…it Snows in Alabama…Even in December, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Yes, Virginia…it Snows in Alabama…Even in December

By Beverly Hicks Burch

Overnight we had a weather event here in Alabama…in other words it SNOWED!! Yes folks it does snow in Alabama, sometimes even in December. Most of our snow tends to hit after the first of the year and we’ve had big snows (4-8 inches) as late as March or April. And, snow can make people do the “funniest” things…

One year back in the 1980s a late spring snow came through while I had an apple tree in bloom. The weight of the heavy snow uprooted the tree…and caused a rather humorous incident later that summer… In an effort to save the said apple tree, Gomez got the Eureka idea to tie the tree up with the garden hose.

Unfortunately whenever the sun came out and warmed up the hose it would stretch out and the tree would start to lean again…and he would have to go out and retie the hose. So, that hose stayed tied to the tree for a long time. How could you forget that, right…a big ol’ garden hose stretched across your back yard…?

Well, Gomez did! He was out in the back yard one afternoon (I should say the far end of the back yard) and the phone rang. Hoping to catch the phone, Gomez took off running toward the house, and you guessed it. He ran smack into the garden hose “guy wire” and clothes-lined himself, knocked his feet out from under him and landed smack on his back and bum.

Down here snow makes people irrational at times. We develop the undeniable urge to run to the grocery store and buy lots and lots of bread and milk and stand in hours long checkout lines for the privilege. I’ve never quite understood why we do that. I try to avoid that compulsion…if I get wind of the “S” word a few days in advance, I head to the store before everyone else and do my “bread and milk” buying… I tried to explain this phenomenon to Tall & Handsome yesterday when he needed to run to the store for us just because we were out of stuff. I advised him to get to the store early and he saw why as he was leaving…there was a major rush of bread and milk buyers!

Momma called me at 7:30 AM and said, “Look outside! It’s a winter wonderland!” Of course up on her little mountain I’m sure the snow was a little deeper than down here in suburbia. I felt bad when I told her we had a head start on awareness. T & H had to let Watson out at 2 AM and when they came back to the bedroom he told me the deck was covered in snow and Watson had left little paw prints in the freshly fallen snow. Need to know info at 2 AM!

As I was talking to Mom I grabbed my camera and began taking pictures. I thought I’d show you what snow in December in Alabama looks like…and I’ve given you a 360° view…from all sides of the house.

Hope you enjoy the closest thing to a White Christmas these parts will see!

Snow 12-5-2009 A

Looking out the Front door from the front porch…

Snow 12-5-09 B

I left the “frozen” North with no snow and come home to this?

Snow 12-5-09 D

Are they Crazy?!

Snow 12-5-09 F

Looking out back…

Snow 12-5-09 G

The deck…a long, cold walk for Watson…

Snow 12-5-09 L

Warm fire sounds good to me…

Snow 12-5-09 H

Winter Beauty

Snow 12-5-09 M

Hopeful Holdout…

Snow 12-5-09 P

Snow Sculptures

Snow 12-5-09 Q

I’m ready for hot chocolate…

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

