"John Stossel", 29860302, Autoimmune Diseases, cancer, Fat Tax, Food Police, Government, Healthcare, James 1:8, Life, News, Politics

John Stossel and the Food Police

SHARE – John Stossel and the Food Police

Posted using ShareThis

I left a comment on John’s blog concerning this issue. You see, this takes away individual responsibility and opens the door for the government to rule every aspect of your life. That’s just what we need in this country now…less individual responsibility…NOT!

At first glance I’m sure there will be many who will say, “Dude, this is a great idea!” A lot are the same people that march in “protest marches” against “the Man”, “Big Brother” and “the evil Empire” known as the US government. So, now they want to let “the Man” manage your table and diet.

A wise man said, “A double-minded man is unstable in all his ways.” James 1:8

This particular issues steams me on a personal level. You see for years I was extremely thin…anorexic actually. I counted every calorie that went into my body and walked at the track and rode my exercise bike as much as 30 miles a day, but never less than 5 miles. I was obsessed.

But, then life…Mother Nature or fate intervened. At the age of 28 I had my first episode of NON-smoking lung cancer…in my right lung. Thirteen years later, a second episode struck my body, this time in my left lung. I had absolutely none of the risk factors for cancer in general and lung cancer in particular. No, none! I had never lived with a smoker, picked up a cigarette…blah, blah, blah… You tell me why…doctors are stumped…unless…

Unless the cancer is related to the several autoimmune disorders that decided to attack my body at a fairly young age. These illness attack internal organs…

The next thing that started happening was rounds and rounds of different types of medications prescribed by the very supposedly health conscience doctors attending my illnesses. There’s one thing they don’t tell you about these medications…many of them have hidden side effects…one in particular…weight gain.

Oh yeah, it happens. So, even though I have always tried to maintain a healthy diet and stay as active as my disease ridden body will allow, I gained weight on these meds. I’m not the only one this has happened too. Who can forget the shock the world expressed when they saw comedian Jerry Lewis in 2002 after he revealed poor health and the side effects the medications caused on his body. At least a 45 pound weight gain…

So, I say, “fat tax”? No way!! How about taking that discrimination and putting it where the sun doesn’t shine?

© 2010 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

