PaGee and His Tomatoes, by Beverly Hicks Burch

PaGee and his Tomatoes

By Beverly Hicks Burch

Yesterday I wrote about repotting some of the herbs and veggies Tall & Handsome and I have accumulated over the past couple of weeks. I also shared my love of green growing things which seems to be a family thing.

It appears this “plant” thing has been generational coming to me from my Momma who got it from her Daddy who got it from his Momma who got it from some unknown family member I’m sure. My granddaddy, or PaGee as I called him, was a true son of Tennessee. He was the son of Middle Tennessee stock who had been in the region for generations. (That makes Momma’s heritage half East Tennessee and half Middle Tennessee…she’s a half breed…hehe…just joking. 😉 Normally you expect to find all East, Middle or West Tennessee heritage, but not half and half…so that make us the best of both.)

I mentioned PaGee’s infamous flowers and crops of tomatoes. One year it was so impressive the local paper gave him space in the paper with a color photo. After Momma read my blog she surprised me with an email that included a copy of that newspaper photo. Sure enough, there was my smiling PaGee amidst his flowers and tomatoes. In his hand was a red, juicy “Better Boy” tomato about the size of a softball.

Slice that puppy up, add a little salt and pepper and that’s bliss…have I mentioned I love tomatoes? Only thing that would make it better would be a BLT 🙂

Thanks for the memories, PaGee…and that “green gene”…

PaGee's Tomatoes (2)

PaGee and his Tomatoes

© 2010 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Flowers, Gardening, McGee, Middle Tennessee, My Tennesse Heritage, PaGee, Photography, Southerners, Tennessee, Tomatoes

2 responses to “PaGee and His Tomatoes, by Beverly Hicks Burch

  1. JOSIE GOOCH

    Am interested in family genealogy and notice you
    distantly connect to my husband – his greataunt,
    Mary Ella Polly Gooch Shaffer, spouse of Thomas Franklin Shaffer, brother of Rebecca McGee.

    Am looking for “living descendants”!
    God bless you and your stories of PaGee

    Josie

    • Josie,

      Hello and God bless you! What a treat 🙂 I too am interested in family genealogy and would be delighted to connected with living “descendants” kin/cousins. I’m not at my home computer atm but will contact you when I return home.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting and “connecting”
      Bev

Leave a Reply

