Backyards, Container Gardening, Gardening, Horticulture, Jalpenos, Photography, Plants, Poppies, Roses

Before the Storm, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Before the Storm

By Beverly Hicks Burch

We had another series of storms roll through the area this afternoon and this evening. This is fairly typical for this time of the year in the South. Last weekend 2.97 inches of rain was dumped on us in a short period of time and right now as I write this we’re under a flash flood watch. Early this the week it was cool and the temps at night fell into the 40s. By this weekend we were in the 80s and extremely humid.

This morning I knew it was going to be raining so I wanted to check out my little “garden”. Container garden is what I’m trying this year along with some color… One day last week I took Mom out for a while and we made our way to the garden shop at Lowe’s. We both came away with plants and pots.

This morning I was checking out my poppy I picked up this week and the other things I have been tending so far this spring. This is my first poppy and I was excited to find it. I was delighted to see my first little tomato on the vine and baby jalapeños popping out on the plant. I found color in the backyard screaming “it’s springtime!’… This afternoon I stepped out on the deck and snipped some fresh basil (three different kinds) for a pasta dish…

I’m so excited! I’m crossing my fingers everything weathers this latest storm…can’t wait to see what I can do with those jalapeños and have fresh tomatoes…

my 1st poppy

My beautiful 1st poppy…

 

Poppy & Rosemary Poppy meets Rosemary…

 

Blaze Rose 

Climbing Blaze Rose…Momma planted this rose almost 44 years ago when she 1st moved into this house…it’s a hearty little soul…

 

Rose on the ground

Jalapano coming soon 

Jalapenos coming soon…

 

1st tomato of the season 1st Little Tomato of the season… 

© 2010 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

