Alabama, Day Lilies, Flowers, Horticulture, Lovelady, Photography, Picture of the Day

Bright Spots, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Day Lilly

Day Lilly B 2011

No matter when, no matter where, day lilies always lift my spirits. Over the years I’ve had so many special people divide theirs and share abundantly with me. My sweet little Loveladys who lived next door to me for years had what I call the “roadside day lily”…that perennial bright orange beauty that proliferates along the sides on the roads here in the South during late Spring and early summer. The only difference with the ones the Loveladys had…theirs had triple layered blossoms! I wish I still had some of those and I sure wish the Loveladys were still around. I miss them sorely. They were like grandparents to me and I loved them dearly.

These bright little fellows are growing in my back yard.

© 2011 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved

Save

Leave a Reply

