Blount County Tennessee, Cades Cove, Dunn, East Tennessee, East Tennessee Heritage, Family, Hicks, Home, Mountains, My Tennesse Heritage, Nature, Photography, Picture of the Day, South, Tennessee, TN, Townsend, Walker

God’s Green Earth, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Between Townsend and the Cove

In the foothills of the Smoky Mountains there is a little hamlet called Townsend, TN. It is part of my ancestral roots. My Daddy was born there and his daddy before him and so on and so on. The Hicks Family and the Walker family and the Dunn family were Blount County residents for generations. There were many Scot-Irish in the area and I strongly resemble that remark and that probably accounts for my love for all thing Scottish…well, except for haggis…

Even though I grew up and spent most of my life in my beloved Alabama when I think of “home” I also think back to the mountains of East Tennessee. Any chance I get to go back and meander through the cool, quiet, tranquil  places I visited as I child, I jump on it! Nothing is as exhilarating as driving up to the top of those smoky mountains and seeing that unique haze grazing the tops of the mountain summits for as far as the eye can see…and standing and breathing in vista after vista of rolling mountain top in the middle of August and feeling a cool breeze gently embrace your body, knowing in the back of you mind that miles away, in cities, mankind is broiling in August heat and gridlock.

My heart sings in those moments…

There’s another place nearby called Cade’s Cove. This cove is nestled in a valley between mountain bases and was also home to family from long ago. If you drive the loop around the cove you can see old barns, churches and homes, deer, wild turkey and a place that seems untouched by time. My daddy remembers my Papaw filling in as the mailman as the postal carrier in the Cove when the full time carrier had need for time off.

Three or four years ago Tall & Handsome and I spent some time one Memorial Day weekend up in that area. I was doing a little genealogy research and just enjoying God’s green Earth. It was a great time for us…

The picture above was taken between Townsend and Cades Cove. While so many in the US are suffering through wildfires, floods, storms and other travails, I thought it would be nice just to remind everyone how wonderful God’s green Earth can really be…especially in East Tennessee…back where I come from…

© 2011 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved

 

Save

3 thoughts on “God’s Green Earth, by Beverly Hicks Burch”

  1. Now you’ve made me nostalgic ! SEE ! ! ! Your Mom and Ithought one time about buying a small home in Laurel Vallely. But we realized it would be too far from the family in the event of emergencies.

    Great article…

    Thanks and Love

    Diddy

  2. I was instantly taken back to the “Peaceful Side of the Smokies” as I read your story I so wanted to be there. Fifteen years ago my husband and I spent our honeymoon on Bradley Mountain in a little log cabin in Townsend. We have since returned many times, in fact we were there last November. What a beautiful peaceful place, it is like going to church. Thank you for this story it brought back some wonderful memories. I am hoping to return this year and bring our grandson. Everyone should experience this majestic place once in their lives.

    1. Marjorie, I’m so glad you enjoyed this blog. I always think of East Tennessee as “home” and always look forward to going back whenever I can…especially to do genealogy research and spend time in the mountains. I hope you get to go back soon and have a wonderful time!

      Thanks for stopping by,
      Bev

Leave a Reply

