Flowers, Gardening, Gomez, Horticulture, Photography, Picture of the Day, Poppies, Tall & Handsome

My First Poppy, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Years ago I was a horticulture major…at least that was one of my courses of studies. I was a few hours short of an AA degree when the ex, Gomez had a car wreck and broke his neck. Being the loving wife that I was, I dropped out of school to take care of him while he recuperated.

I was repaid handsomely years later when he walked out on our son’s 21st birthday, clean out the bank accounts and took up with his wealthy co-worker girlfiend girlfriend Morticia (hand to God, that was their code name for each other).

Of course by then, I had survived non-smoking lung cancer twice, developed Sjogren’s syndrome, fibromyalgia and other chronic health issues. (Gee, kinda sounds like something ripped out of today’s political headlines vis a vie Newt and Callista.)

My green thumb seems to be a genetic thing from my Momma’s side of the family. There have been garden putters in our family for years. Because of health reasons I can’t do vigorous gardening, but a couple of years ago with the help of my Tall & Handsome we did some container gardening. Along with some herbs and veggies, I grew ornamentals. Today’s picture is one I took of my first poppy. It was enchanting…even if it was for a short while…

So, some bright color for a winter’s day…

 

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

Save

Leave a Reply

