Alabama, Birmingham AL, Central Alabama, Photography, Picture of the Day, Supermoon, Tall & Handsome

It’s Back! by Beverly Hicks Burch

Last year about this time there was a lot of hoopla about the whooper super moon we were about to experience.

Supposedly the moon was going to be in the closest proximity to the Earth that it had been in 19 years. Pundits were predicting all sorts of calamities and disasters. When the mega-earthquake and tsunami hit Japan about a week before the so called super moon, well, the theory went viral. Never mind the timing was off…

So, Tall & Handsome and I waited with  baited breath for the arrival of this super moon. Noooo, not really…but, we were kind of curious as to what a super moon would look like. I had images of a big ol’ Moon Pie, a disc of Swiss cheese or something out of an H.G. Wells book. I just knew I’d finally see that man in the moon…

We happened to be in St. Augustine the night of the super moon. That, you would think would add a little extra “umph” and romance. Well, it didn’t…

Imagine our surprise when the super moon looked like a regular plain ol’ full moon…not that a full moon is ever “plain”. And, I have a particular fondness for the combination of T & H and full moons because he just happened to give me the moon back after a particularly difficult time in my life. He is the guy that lassoed the moon for me…

Anyway, this evening we were suppose to be gifted with yet another super moon…a supposedly less impressive version of last year’s mammer jammer moon.

Well, today T & H and I spent the better part of the day working in the yard trying to restore the beds and rid six years of neglect from our former tenant. My blood boils when I recall all of the wonderful landscaping, plants and work that swirled the drain while he lived here. To say I consider him a blight on the planet would be an understatement…just saying…

Now that we’ve just about completed restoring the inside of the house, our goal is to restore the outside. Let me tell you…in six years honeysuckle can become the nightmare on any street…

So, this evening we decide to step out onto our nice big front porch, admire our hard work, catch the gentle cool breeze in the air and enjoy the view of the of the mist caressing the mountain top across the way from us. We could hear frogs in the distance, probably from the creek that runs through the woods across the street.

T & H said, “It’s beautiful up here.”

I make no secret about it…I love living on my little peaceful, quiet mountaintop…

Welcome to Burch’s Mountain…

Then, it dawned on us. Tonight was the super moon. We cast our eyes upward and there it was…the super moon, I don’t know if it was because we were home or because we were here on the mountain, but this super moon seemed superior than that sand trapped super moon of last year…making last year’s pale in comparison. The details and effects of tonight’s moon were awesome…

All I know is…there’s no place like home…and I love being home on my little mountain…Goodnight T & H…Goodnight Watson…Goodnight Moon…

supermoon 2012

T and H enjoying the supermoon

T & H taking in the super moon and the cool evening

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

Save

Leave a Reply

