Fireworks in a Pot, by Beverly Hicks Burch

fushis impatients my favorite

Impatients are one of my favorite annuals. I love the dark green foliage juxtaposed against the bright colorful blossoms. They’re kinda like fireworks in pots when they’re doing what they’re suppose to do.

Impatients prefer shade but will tolerate some morning sun. Late afternoon sun will leave them looking wilted and limp…even if they have been watered sufficiently. If they get “leggy” just pinch or cut them back and they will fill out and have a lovely shape again. My perfect place for growing impatients is on my screened-in deck. I have pots of them setting around.

Momma had a variety that reseeded themselves year after year and would come up every year on their own. That’s pretty amazing because impatients aren’t really known for that. I’ve tried to preserved some of those impatients but they seem to be fewer and fewer each year. So, this year I bought several bedding impatients to fill my pots. My favorite color is the deep pinkish purple…I just love that happy little color brightening up shady spots…

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under Flowers, Gardening, Gardening Tips, Horticulture, Impatients, Photography, Picture of the Day

Leave a Reply

