Backyards, Container Gardening, DIY, Gardening, Herbs, Jalpenos, Peppers, Photography, Tall & Handsome, Tomatoes, Vegetables

Waiting for Results, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Waiting for Results

A couple of years ago Tall & Handsome and I tried our hand for the first time at container gardening. I saw him enjoy a new hobby and it was good for me to do something I had loved for so long.

I had majored in horticulture at a local community college years ago. But, even before that I had enjoyed getting my hands dirty so to speak. I think it’s genetic because there seems to be a green thumb that has been passed down generation to generation on my Mom’s side of the family. I do have to give my Daddy’s side some credit, too, because I remember Papaw growing a garden.

My PaGee (Mom’s daddy) grew ornamentals…salvia and marigolds first come to mind and the biggest juiciest tomatoes this side of Eden. I remember Papaw (Daddy’s dad) grew a garden…potatoes, corn…that kind of thing. I remember him letting me pick cotton and peanuts. Now that was a big thing for a girl raised in the suburbs.

So, there just wasn’t a chance that somewhere down the line I would not grow something, right? It was bound to happen…

For years I did “garden”. I even had an honest to goodness vegetable garden a few times. But, I loved landscaping my homes. Finding and using obscure plants most people didn’t use, know about or would never think the use.

Unfortunately as my health started to decline my ability to garden decreased accordingly. Fortunately I have a guy that says, “Honey, you be the brains and I’ll be the muscle.” And, fortunately I can container garden! It’s kind of the best of both worlds. Container gardening is also a great way to garden if you have a limited amount of space.

This year we’re growing tomatoes, jalapenos, pablano peppers (they make wonderful Chile Rellanos), bell pepper, cilantro, cinnamon basil, sweet basil, lemon balm, mint, lavender, rosemary, Greek oregano and for ornamentals geraniums, Impatients and coreopsis. We also planted a Japanese maple. T & H planted some of these in the ground and I have a clematis waiting to go in the ground.

We started compost last year and we were excited to be able to use that in our plantings to enrich to soil. He planted some of our plants in the ground but the majority are in pots.

So, now we wait for results…yummy tomatoes and luscious peppers. The good news is we can already go out and snip herbs when we need them. The mint is wonderful in baby English Peas and Mojitos if you are so inclined. The basil, well what isn’t it good in?

So, hurray for having your container gardens and eating fresh produce, too!

Our first Early Girl Tomato

Our first Early Girl Tomato

 

Roma and Husky Red

Husky Red Tomato (cherry tomato) and Roma Tomato

 

tomato blossoms

First Parker’s Whopper Tomato Blossoms

 

cilantro and oregano

Greek Oregano and Cilantro

 

Cinnamon basil so fragrant

Fragrant Cinnamon Basil

 

Hardy lemon balm

Hardy Lemon Balm – this is perennial and very fragrant. Lemon balm is in the mint family

 

my precious mint

My wonderful Mint. I have two patches of mint. The one in this pot and we’ve planted one in the ground hoping it returns next year much like the Lemon Balm does.

 

countdown to jalapeno

It won’t be long before we have our first Jalapenos

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Save

Leave a Reply

