"4th of July", Alabama, Folk Art, Photography, Picture of the Day, Solo Cups

Red, White and Blue Solo Cups, by Beverly Hicks Burch

This may be a repost of this picture, but I love this “folk art”.

A few years ago Tall & Handsome and I were at a gas station over on highway 411. He went in to pay and I happened to look up and across the street.

My first thought was, “Oh, no, you didn’t!”

I mean, really?! Do you know how many Solo Cups it took to create this flag? 312! Yep, I counted them. That’s a whole lot of partying or a whole lot of creativity….

But, as I glanced at the yard as a whole I realized there was a budding folk artist living across from the local gas station…

It just shows you…you can find art in the strangest places…even in red, white and blue Solo Cups…

Happy 4th of July everyone!

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved

Save

4 thoughts on “Red, White and Blue Solo Cups, by Beverly Hicks Burch”

    1. Hi and thanks for stopping by.

      When I took this picture I was standing across the road from the fence, but from the viewpoint I had it looked like the most common size of Solo Cup. If you wanted to duplicate it, you might be able to borrow a couple of different size cups from friends to see which fits better.

      Good luck and send a picture when you finish! Would love to see it 🙂

    1. Hi Rochelle,

      Thanks for stopping by!

      I didn’t make the Solo Cup Flag, I just happened to photograph. I saw it one day when I was sitting in the car waiting for my husband to go in and pay for gas he had just pumped. I looked across the street and there it was!

      But, from what I could see at that distance, they looked like they were the standard size Solo cups you can buy at the supermarket.

      Hope this help.

      Bev

Leave a Reply

