Colors at the Beach, by Beverly Hicks Burch

colors at the beach

There are certain rewards to climbing 114 stairs to the top of a lighthouse…the view being at the top of the list.

To many of you those 114 steps may not seem to be a big deal, but for me it was a milestone and major accomplishment. For, you see I am disabled. I have a very diminished lung capacity after having non-smoking lung cancer twice that resulted in having major portions of both lungs removed. Add to that autoimmune disorders, fibromyalgia,  osteoarthritis and last year the diagnosis of an atrial septal aneurysm in my heart. (And, that’s the short list…)

So each step was like the Tim McGraw song, “Live Like You Were Dying”. The fact that I lost my beloved aunt less than a month ago also motivated me along. Aunt LaRue suffered with many of the same illness and then some. Her final years were so limited by what she could do and where she went. It was torture for her because she was a curious adventurous soul at heart. So, with each step I thought of Aunt LaRue and how I was still here and can still live…

Granted my ascent was slow. Many climber passed us on the way up and Tall & Handsome insisted I stop after every 10 steps and rest. (Confession is there were pauses on those 10 step sets.)

But, when I got to the top and stepped outside…there was my reward…a 360 degree panoramic view, fresh cooler air, a brisk wind to cool me off and the proud smile of my champion T & H.

I tried to stay as long as I could…

I took in every thing all around me and for some reason things from the top seemed much more vibrant and colorful. I was particularly taken by the kaleidoscope of colors and shapes in this picture. Who would have thought a parking lot could be such a happy looking place?

Things just look different from the view at the top…

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved

Leave a comment

Filed under Aunt LaRue, Beach Pictures, Disability, Harbour Town Lighthouse, Hilton Head Island, Lighthouses, Live Like You Were Dying, Photography, Picture of the Day, Road Trip, South, South Carolina, Tall & Handsome, The South, Travel, Traveling with disabilities

Leave a Reply

