Arachnid Who?! by Beverly Hicks Burch

said the spider to the lie B

Last night when I opened the French doors to let Watson out for his last nightly potty run, I had the shock of my life. Just inches from my face was a huge spider web and one pretty big Arachnid. I’m glad I didn’t go barreling out the door like Scoot (Watson) does or I would have had an unfortunate and much too personal encounter with Ms Charlotte.

The amazing thing is Tall & Handsome was out on the deck about an hour an half before this and there was no sign of Charlotte or her web…he walked unencumbered and unimpeded through that door. It was just my misfortune to meet her up close and personal.

The web was an amazing piece of engineering for the time frame. It was probably 4 or 5 feet wide and maybe 3 feet tall. I don’t know how you would calculate the equivalent of a man made construction in that same time frame but I bet it would be impressive.

Since I don’t make a habit of studying spiders, I’m not exactly sure what kind of spider this so if anybody recognizes this particular spider drop me a comment and let me know. It would be nice to know if she’s benign or if I have a killer lurking around…

And now for the back view…

said the spider to the fly

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Alabama, Arachnid, Photography, Picture of the Day, Spiders

2 responses to “Arachnid Who?! by Beverly Hicks Burch

  1. It is amazing how quickly they construct their webs! This is a garden orb weaver belonging to the family Araneidae. It may be Neoscona crucifera, but I’m not certain. Regardless, members of this family are relatively harmless to humans. They are venomous like all spiders (and could potentially bite, if threatened), but the venom is not dangerous. They are more beneficial than anything…considering the number of insects they catch in that fantastic web! If you walk through a web the spider usually retreats to the edge of the web anyways…and I’ve walked through my share of webs hiking along trails at night!

    • Dan,

      Thanks so much for taking the time to give us an identification on Ms Charlotte as I like to call her 😉 My husband say he has seen her in several locations spinning that wonderful web you were talking about. I was hoping “she” was a beneficial garden spider and not one that would cause my flesh to rot off if we had a personal encounter lol! You have certainly alleviated my concerns!

      Thanks again for stopping by and for the ID.

      Bev

Leave a Reply

