Alabama, Fall, Flags, Front Porch Swings, Front Porches, Front Yards, Holidays, Labor Day, Photography, Picture of the Day, Tall & Handsome

Labor Day…Goodbye, Summer, by Beverly Hicks Burch

just in time

It’s been a crazy summer…in many ways…

About mid-summer we had unrelenting heat. I’m talking about fry those eggs on the sidewalk heat. And although it wasn’t the driest I’d ever seen, it had been dry. We had decided to establish another container garden…a prep for a garden in the future; we had a Japanese maple to set out and lots of weeding to do because absolutely none was done while we were living out of state.

Then August rolled around and it was unseasonably cooler with some evenings dipping into the 50s in parts of the state. And, then Isaac hit and sections of the state were hit with torrential rain. Needless to say, drought conditions were broken and were no longer standing after Isaac.

Our goals were prioritized this year: Revamp and update the inside of the house – check. Get moved in and settled – pretty much check, although I still have a guest room I’m working on.

But, and this is still a really big but…shape up the yard and work on the front porch and decks and clean out the garage. That one task makes my teeth itch just thinking about it…yeah, that bad…

Decks are coming along and the front porch is shaping up, too, just in time to enjoy it for fall.

A couple a Saturdays or so Tall & Handsome finally hung the porch swing we bought about two years ago. It was an all day project and almost put him down with heat stroke because he had to crawl up in the attic to make sure there was enough support to hang the swing. The fact he didn’t eat or drink anything even after I recommended he do so had a tad to do with that, but we won’t discuss that…

Only major thing missing on the front porch are the ceiling fans. I had some when I first built the house back it Nov. 2001 but a tornado rumbled through and sucked those puppies off the porch ceiling. I was going through a divorce and then I remarried and we moved out of state for a while so I just capped the outlet boxes and now that we’re home I’m back in the market for ceiling fans.

This past Monday was Labor Day here in the States, a holiday. It was rainy and cool. T & H had the day off. That morning I happened to noticed him missing and I found him outside sitting on the porch swing with a cup of coffee and his Nook. I grabbed a cup of Golden French Toast coffee and joined him. As we gently swayed in the swing I noticed that leaves have the slightest tinge of color and a few were beginning to fall.

It was a very good day…

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

Save

Leave a Reply

