Alabama, Autumn, Fall, Fall Color, Photography, Picture of the Day, Quote of the Day, South, Springville AL

It’s Almost Here…, by Beverly Hicks Burch

 

It Begins D

It won’t be sneaking down your chimney to eat cookies, but we’re counting down to one of my favorite times of the year. Yes, this coming Saturday will mark the official first day of autumn.

If I could bring in a choir to sing a rousing “amen” chorus for you, or better yet a group of pipers (bagpipers) playing a haunting chorus of Amazing Grace, well, then I’d do that, too…just to show you how much I love this time of the year. First cool snap we have I drag out the soup pot and start making wonderful soups…and I admit to playing a Christmas carol or two just to get in practice for the upcoming season. And, I can’t wait to have the first fire of the year in the fireplace.

I hate summer, by the way…have I mentioned that?

August was mercifully cool and we have had some rain, so I’m crossing my fingers for some great color this year!

If I had those pipers, you could hear the the music of the pipes echoing through the valleys of the mountains you see peeking just behind those trees.

It’s heaven up here…

“ What humbugs we are, who pretend to live for Beauty, and never see the Dawn!” ~ Logan Pearsall Smith ~

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

Save

Leave a Reply

