Ignoring that Sea of Brown, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Yesterday I was over at my parents and I took a stroll down the path that skirts the bluff on the outer edge of their property. I shared a walk down that dappled lane back in June, but I wanted to see if autumn had made its brilliant changes yet.

While still just as wonderful to meander down, there were only just a few sign of autumn beginning to show. The trees that were sheltering me on both sides had not yet began to put on the coats of many colors, but I was able to find some bits and pieces of color and autumn here and there.

Over the next few days I’ll share a few of those bits and pieces. And, when the path is clothed in all its glory, I’ll try to catch it at just the right time…

This particular little leaf struck my fancy because it was surrounded by a sea of brown. The position and way it was tucked in that sea of brown gave the impression of a proud feather riding proudly in the band of a hat…on top of the world instead of on the ground engulfed by brown…

leaf 2

“Be yourself. Above all, let who you are, what you are, what you believe, shine through every sentence you write, every piece you finish” ~ John Jakes ~

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under Alabama, Autumn, Fall, Fall Color, Leaves, Photography, Picture of the Day

Leave a Reply

