Anniversaries, Holidays, Horticulture, Love, Roses, Tall & Handsome

Middle of the Bench, by Beverly Hicks Burch

“Love is what makes two people sit in the middle of a bench when there is plenty of room on both ends.” ~ Unknown~

anniversay roses C

In the short space of six weeks, between Thanksgiving and the beginning of January, there is ample reason for celebrating in our house. To be even more specific, from Dec. 24th until the beginning of January we celebrate Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, our wedding anniversary, New Year’s Eve, New Year’s Day and my birthday!

Can you let out a really big, “Whew!!” after that whirlwind?

This year added into that mix was the fact that my mom had surgery and my back was out of sorts and totally non-functional and I had terrible gastrointestinal problems. I am barely beginning to mend now, but I have to admit I am mending and the dark circles are gradually fading from under my eyes.

Today’s picture is evidence of the TLC I had during that time. My T & H bent over backwards to take care of me and make each occasion as special as he could.  He shopped, cooked and presented me with the sweetest cards. He went out in pouring rain and came home with this dozen of beautiful red roses for our anniversary.

I can’t believe over a decade has passed since T & H and I first met and he was my Knight in Shining Armor…my Tall & Handsome southwestern cowboy. It’s even harder to believe we have already been married nine of those 12 years.

Someday I will share our story, but for now I will say that in finding T & H I found a man with one of the kindest, purest hearts of anyone I’ve known. He has encouraged me, we have enjoyed wonderful new experiences together and grown together. There is not a day that goes by in our house without laughter. In goods times and bad, we are together. He is my Jeff to my Mutt, my peanut butter to my jelly, my Richard to my Liz, my Ricky to my Lucy…

He is the reason I sit in the middle of the bench…

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

Save

4 thoughts on “Middle of the Bench, by Beverly Hicks Burch”

  1. Thanks for sharing this!! How beautiful!! I am so thankful you found your T & H Soutwesten Cowboy!! I am going to have to read some of your other work!! Thankful we came across one another on FaceBook!! May GOD continue to heal your body and keep laughing!

    Your Friend,

    Shree

    1. Shree,

      You’re very welcome and I so glad you enjoyed reading my “anniversary” post 🙂 I’m very thankful also for finding T & H, too. I’ve told him before I grabbed the brass ring when I found him 😉 Seriously, we’ve often lamented how we wish we could have met when we were very young, but to paraphrase a familiar phrase: “It’s better to have found than to have never have found at all.”

      Shree, I’ve been blogging for many years so, there’s plenty out there LOL! On this blog I have some of my original recipes before I started my cooking blog; there’s funny stuff, serious stuff, my photography, reflections and just things in general. Whatever you’re in the mood for, you’re bound to find it. 😉

      I, too, am so glad our friendship has grown thanks to FB. YOU are in my prayers daily (and so is your sweet husband).

      Thanks, for stopping by! What fun to see you here, too!

      Hugs for my friend,
      Bev

  2. I have one just like him, only mine was never a cowboy! I think it’s the era they were from, to be truthful. Tom was that very same kind of man, until the strokes took his ability to get out, and buy those roses and cards. Now, he sends Beth, but he NEVER forgets. It’s great to be a “pair” with a man like that, and sit in the middle of the bench. We have had 47 years of marriage, and 52 years of friendship and love. I am so glad he is still with me, and so happy for you Beverly–men like that are few and far between, but deserve recognition for the wonderful way they treat their wife/girlfriend/fiancee, etc. Never allow yourself to forget! Love to you, Mary

Leave a Reply

