Doors, East Tennessee Heritage, Georgia, Hicks, Middle Tennessee Heritage, Old South, Old Southern Buildings, Photography, Picture of the Day, Travel

The Wolves of Insignificance From the Door, by Beverly Hicks Burch

“Everybody needs his memories. They keep the wolf of insignificance from the door.” ~ Saul Bellow ~

If Walls could Talk

I was going through my portable hard drive this morning and rediscovered this image. It’s one of my favorites…I love doors, they hold mysteries behind their closed portals in my opinion. I apologize if you have seen this previously, but I wanted an opportunity to share it with my newer readers.

About five years ago I had business that took me on a drive from my home in August, GA where we were living at that time to Savannah, GA. For any of you familiar with that drive, you know it’s not a particularly long one (two and half hour or so), but it’s not necessarily an easy one.

For most of the trip you are traveling back in time to the very old, very Deep South and doing so sans nice multi-lanes interstates. Yes, the way to the past is paved mostly with two lane roads. And, the time of year I took the trip, July, the weather was…well the In the Heat of the Night or Cat on a Hot Tin Roof hot. That would be hot, humid and sultry…just a typical Southern summer day.

On my drive back to Augusta, the sun was beginning the track low on the horizon making its way to sunset. I was hoping for a chance to capture some interesting photographs, but, nothing was catching my “fancy”…until I stopped at a four way stop sign in the middle of nowhere Georgia…

As I sat at the stop sign, I glanced to my left and there she sat, this quite, aged relic of the past. My photograph I’d been waiting for. She was sitting right at the edge of the road, just waiting for me.

Any good Southern girl could see the good “bones” she had: a huge overhanging eave that would offer much needed shade from the unforgiving Southern summer sun, and not one, but two double doors that had a one time lead out onto large porches. (The old remnants of where the porches and their supports had been are still visible.)

My first reaction was, “Oh, if those walls could talk!” My imagination was out of the gate and went wild. Had a “Big Daddy” lived there, or a “Scout”, a latter day Scarlett or even a Zelda.

But, then I thought why does it have to be people like that to be interesting? It could have been someone just like me…or my wonderful Papaw Hicks or one of his sisters like Aunt Ruthy who lived in a big old house on the side of a mountain in Kinzel Springs, TN in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains. Or My Momma’s people from Middle Tennessee. They were all wonderful, talented people who lead interesting lives and created memories for their families to pass down.

Those memories do keep the wolf of insignificance from the door…for those gone and those still here…we have a sense of who we are and where we come from.

I hope the families that lived in this wonderful old house were also keeping the wolves from the door…their families deserved it and so does this proud old relic still standing, quietly telling a memory of significance…

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved

Save

2 thoughts on “The Wolves of Insignificance From the Door, by Beverly Hicks Burch”

Leave a Reply

