Aunt LaRue, Bucket List Item, Butterflies, Cypress Trees, Photography, Picture of the Day, Tall & Handsome, Texas, Travel

The End of the World, by Beverly Hicks Burch

“What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the Master calls a butterfly.” ~ Richard Bach ~

Cypress trees TX State part Oct 1999 B

I have a treasure trove of pictures dating back more years than I care to count…long before the word “digital” was even thought about. Many were taken with a SRL 35mm Pentax I owned at the time and others were taken with cameras long past the lost and found, some maybe even with my first Instamatic.

The images have started to fade even though I have tried to preserved them from the clutches of time. One “bucket list” item is to scan as many as I can, therefore committing them to the digital universe continuum…

To do this I am experimenting with a new toy…a hand held or “wand” scanner if you will. Such a handy device for someone like me who deals with health issues from time to time. I am anxious to see how my toy gets along with my archive of images.

Today’s picture if the first of those images…

This is one of my all time favorite images and places I visited. It was a place I had the pleasure of sharing with my beloved Aunt LaRue whom I lost this past June. It is also an image I wrote about when Tall & Handsome and I first met and corresponded and “courted” long distance.

I happened upon these cypress trees in a state park outside of San Antonio, Texas. It was actually more like the Hill Country of Texas. We were out there for my son’s graduation from basic training at Lackland Air Force Base, but we were taking time to enjoy some of the “color” Texas has to offer. Texas holds a special spot in my heart because I celebrated my second birthday in Texas and as a result, my daddy calls me his “little Texas girl” to this very day.

This was one of the most tranquil and serene places I’ve ever seen. You may take a cursory look and your first reaction is, “Wow, that’s desolate and looks like the end of the world as I know it!”

But, what you can’t hear is the water and the quietness of nature and what you can’t see are the hundreds if not thousands of Monarch butterflies nestled in and hanging in kaleidoscopic clusters amongst the trees. We had unknowingly visited at just the right time, in October during migration season. It was a powerful, moving sight to behold.

No, this place is not the end of the world, but what the Master allowed me to see as the serene, quiet place of thousands of butterflies…I will never forget it…

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Save

1 thought on “The End of the World, by Beverly Hicks Burch”

Leave a Reply

