Aunt LaRue, Clouds, Photography, Picture of the Day, Quote of the Day, Seaside Photography, St. Thomas US Virgin Islands, Tall & Handsome, Travel, US Virgin Islands

The Sky is the Daily Bread of My Eyes, by Beverly Hicks Burch

The sky is the daily bread of my eyes.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson ~

st thomas A

I was conflicted today. The sky is truly the daily bread on my life and probably your life also. But, as Konrad Adenauer said, “We all live under the same sky, but we don’t all have the same horizons.”

Can anything be more revealing than those two quotes?

Tall & Handsome and I have that discussion on occasion. He talks about the southwestern sky…looking out across the high desert and how blue the sky is and the wondrous changes that occur at sunset.

I on the other hand remark there are some pretty awesome skies right here in the South. I have seen some of the bluest skies in my life by just looking up and taking in the sky of the day. Yet, I have stood amongst the peaks of the Great Smoky Mountains and had my inner soul moved at the sight of God’s creation…that mysterious “smoke” rising off the mountains and melding as one with the sky in front of me. It is no wonder my Scotch-Irish ancestor picked that spot to settle and begin their life in the New World.

Some may find today’s picture foreboding and ominous. I on the other hand take comfort in it. I am not a great sun worshiper. This is a conversation I had with my Aunt LaRue many times and something we had in common. She was a Tennessee girl that was transplanted to central Florida and she hated it till the day she died. One of the main reasons? The unrelenting constant sunshine and lack of good rainy days. What can I say? We love rainy days…probably in part because they are kinder on our unrelenting autoimmune disorders.

This is another picture I snapped on St. Thomas back in 1998. I like to look at these dark clouds and crashing waves and parallel them to life. Since 1998 I’ve been through many personal storms, times when I wondered if there was even an eye in the storm. But, just like this image, I have learned that, yes, there is Light behind those clouds and yes, sometimes that Light will just surprise me with a proverbial silver lining when I least expect.

So, I think I will continue to look up for my daily bread…

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

Save

2 thoughts on “The Sky is the Daily Bread of My Eyes, by Beverly Hicks Burch”

  1. 1 I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; From where shall my help come?
    2 My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth. 3 He will not allow your foot to slip; He who keeps you will not slumber.
    Psalms 121:1-3 (NASB)

Leave a Reply

