Children, Coins of Worth, Little Girls, Photography, Picture of the Day, Princesses, Quote of the Day

They’re all Princesses. Didn’t Your Father Tell You That?, by Beverly Hicks Burch

“ I am a princess. All girls are. Even if they live in tiny old attics. Even if they dress in rags, even if they aren’t pretty, or smart, or young. They’re still princesses. All of us. Didn’t your father tell you that? Didn’t he?” ~ Sara Crewe, A Little Princess, 1995 ~

Every Little Girl is a Princess

What little girl hasn’t dreamed of being a princess? It is the quintessential day dream of most little girls.

I really love today’s quote, because I think it encapsulates the true meaning of “being a princess”. So many time when we hear the word princess we cringe because it brings to mind horrible images. Tiny “mean girls” pitching tyrannical fits just to get their way or get what they want. Little “Snookies” in the making…

But, that’s not what is really means…

For me, it’s about love…and confidence…

There are so many “pearls of wisdom” about children and child raising, but I have a few favorite ones and few observations I’ve made of my own. Years ago I read about the “coins of worth”. How some children seem to be valued in society more than others because of “certain coins of worth”.

Those “coins” could be beauty, intelligence, talent, personality or any other shining quality we tend to try and cultivate in kids. But, the plain simple truth is: each child…each little girl is a rare coin of tremendous value…no matter what…period…

Another thing I read one time is this: One of the most precious gifts a father can give his children is to love their mother…

…I would extend that to say: “One of the most precious gifts a dad can give his daughter is to be a demonstratively loving father.”

I have been blessed on all those accounts. I have seen my mentally and physically challenged sister loved as if she was a coin of the rarest quality and beauty. My daddy has loved my momma for 60+ years giving the three of us girls a fine example of a good man. As a result, I am not “male cynical” even after going through a divorce that felt like I was being dragged through a pine knot backwards. I like guys, probably because I like my daddy. My daddy has been a loving, involved dad. We even jokingly call him our Jewish momma because of his tendency to worry over us. In my daddy’s eyes, we could do anything we wanted to do if we set our minds to it.

That, my friends, is giving you kids “coinage”…

I became an aunt for the first time a few years ago. And, when I did I discovered what my two loving aunts had known for years…there’s nothing like a niece. She is a princess in you eyes…And, like my aunts did for me, I hope to show them they have all the coins in the world to be the best princesses ever…no matter when, no matter where, no matter what, no matter how old…

Because, it’s true, no matter how old you are, you can still be a princess…I am a grown woman with a grown child, but to this day my Daddy still calls me his “little Texas girl”.

That’s close enough to being a princess for me…

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

Save

6 thoughts on “They’re all Princesses. Didn’t Your Father Tell You That?, by Beverly Hicks Burch”

  1. I am sometimes a princess, and other times the QUEEN! When I am in QUEEN mode, I am a very different person–I am “she who must be obeyed”, at that point.

    I am, however, not above having tea in the afternoon with Lauren, and sitting on her little chairs–very hard to get up from, by the way, for this old lady. We eat popcorn and cookies, and drink sweet tea. Lauren is 8 now, so she has passed the dress up stage–she feels that the princess dresses are much to itchy, and I personally can’t fit into them any longer. We are at the floppy hat and boa stage of things these days. I look forward to summer so that we can “play school” and “have tea” in the afternoon. I will be sad when this time passes, and she no longer wants to do tea.

    By the way, have I told you about Luke? This is the young man who has decided that, since Lauren choose to give him a valentine and a heart full of candy on Valentine’s Day, that he would be glad to have her as a girlfriend. He is so very sweet to her, and it amazes me so much that he doesn’t think she has cooties! Lauren won’t be 9 until Nov 12, and Luke is already 9. She ended up in 2nd grade because of the cut off date of Sept 1, and he is in 3rd grade. He is so sweet to her–he actually put his arm around her shoulders for a picture! She looks so very nervous, and he is very happy! Funny!!

    Luke asked his dad if he could walk around with Lauren and her mom at the fair, and he was more than happy to use his tickets to pay for her too, although I don’t think Beth let him do it. Now, that is a Southern gentleman in the making! He even opens doors, and is so polite–lots of yes mam’s and no mam’s. I am impressed not only by her choice, but his response to her. He actually tries to take care of her–another amazement. Most boys would play rough, and push a girl down in the dirt, and not be able to figure out why they are crying. I have seen this syndrome so many times before.

    I hope Lauren continues to make good choices like this one, where men are concerned. Such a nice boy, with good grades in school too–that was a big hit with me. All the teachers were saying, “AWWWWWW” and telling Lauren they liked her choice very much. That tells me something about Lauren AND Luke!!! I just wish this stage wouldn’t pass so quickly. I am going to miss my “Princessa” (That’s princess in Spanish, by the way.), and our afternoon teas in the summer. I got to do this with her mom, and now with her. How much fun is it to relive fun times?

    Warmest Regards, Princess Mary

    1. Mary, It’s wonderful you have the chance to have 2 princesses in you life! And, of course we get to be princess…and queen isn’t too shabby either 😉 Lauren sounds like a lot of fun. I remember that age when my son was young. He had a little girl friend then, too. He wanted a 3 piece suit “like granddad’s so he could catch a girlfriend”…his exact words right before his 4th birthday….

Leave a Reply

