Alabama, Aunt LaRue, Azaleas, G. K. Chesterton Quotes, Horticulture, Photography, Picture of the Day, Plants, Quote of the Day, Rain, southern indica 'Formosa'

Without the Rain, There Would Be No Rainbows, by Beverly Hicks Burch

“And when it rains on your parade, look up rather than down. Without the rain, there would be no rainbows.” ~ G. K. Chesterton ~

Formosa HD

southern indica ‘Formosa’

This past weekend we had rain. No, really…it rained. Sunday in particular.

Most people bemoan rain, but I adore a good rainy day. My Aunt LaRue was like that, too. She hated living in Florida, the state of perpetual heat and sunshine. She longed for the mountains of East Tennessee with cloudy, rainy days.

I mean, think about it. How often have you said, “Oh, it’s such a lovely searing hot and humid day. I think I’ll cozy up with a cup of hot tea and a good book.”?

Well, I’ve said that…let me count…a total of…never, no never! But, give me a goody rainy day and boy can I put me some chapters away.

I also don’t like to take the rain for granted. Some parts of the world live in constant drought conditions, and even here in the US different parts of the country go through cycles when we have drought conditions.

I can remember a few in my lifetime. Lake levels get low; water rationing kicks in, lawns start to dry up and everything is covered in a dusty coat of ick.

But, if the rain falls when it’s suppose to, then the aquifers are replenished and it makes the summer season a lot more tolerable.

Then, of course, there’s the rainbows. I don’t think I every saw as many rainbows as I did when I was in Hawaii. It was almost mandatory to see twin rainbows. This past Sunday we were graced with rainbows galore here in Alabama. Many were over churches which made some pretty spectacular pictures.

But, in the spring my personal favorite rainbow is the annual blooming of the azaleas.

I just couldn’t help but share one more picture of my azaleas I took after the rain on Sunday. I took the pictures on Monday morning and was amazed at the raindrops still being held captive on the azalea blossoms.

It reminded me of what Chesterton had said. Without the rain, I would not have my personal wonderful rainbow…my azaleas…funny how nature works out that way…in a cycle…

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Save

Leave a Reply

