Artic Queen Clematis, Backyards, Flowers, Horticulture, Photography, Picture of the Day, Quote of the Day, Vines

To Love Beauty is to See Light, by Beverly Hick Burch

“To love beauty is to see light.” ~ Victor Hugo ~

Clematis A

They (just who is they anyway?) say beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but I think anyone would be hard press to find this gorgeous blossom anything less than beautiful.

I was really excited to see my Arctic Queen Clematis bloom for the first time this year. There were three big glorious blossoms about the same time. I had nursed it along in the nursery pot until we could get it in the ground last year. I’m hoping this lovely vine is just getting a jump start for the season and I’ll be seeing more of these blooms throughout the summer since the clematis is known for a long flowering season.

I love the large, double white blossoms of the Arctic Queen. They remind me of the dahlias my sweet next door neighbor, Herman Lovelady use to grow. Mr. Lovelady and his wife Lola were like a surrogate grandparents. I really mourned their passing and miss them to this day. They added beauty and love to my life for many years.

I discovered a long time ago I am sensitive to the aesthetics around me. That could be why I was a horticulture student…I love the beauty found around us in Nature. It could also explain why I was, and still am a little OCD (disability is a really good cure for OCD!). There is nothing as demoralizing as a dump! But, again, beauty is in the eye of the beholder and one man’s beauty may be another man’s eye sore. Not too long ago I was struck by the beauty of the architecture of some old European buildings and antiques. The beauty of certain pieces music can bring me to tears.

Whatever our personal standard of beauty is, I think there is beauty we can all agree upon…laughter of a child, love we receive from those we hold dear, heroism, Nature, kindness, a moonlit night…

We may hear a lot of bad news and it’s easy to be discouraged by that news and the cruelty we see in others, but, we don’t have to look far to find a single beautiful thing.

The other day, I only had to look as far as my backyard. And, to see that beauty and appreciate it and love it, well, it is like seeing light…

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Save

2 thoughts on “To Love Beauty is to See Light, by Beverly Hick Burch”

Leave a Reply

