Alabama, Blount County Alabama, Bridges, Covered Bridges, Photography, Picture of the Day, Tall & Handsome

Diamond Bridge for Sure, by Beverly Hicks Burch

“Golden bridge, silver bridge or diamond bridge; it doesn’t matter! As long as the bridge takes you across to the other side, it is a good bridge.” ~ Mehmet Murat Ildan ~

Horton Mill Bridge E

I have a confession. I have a phobia about bridges. Ever since the Silver Bridge collapsed over the Ohio River between Ohio and West Virginia shortly before Christmas 1967, bridges have been objects of torment for me. I think the fact I never learned to swim may play a teeny, tiny factor in my phobia.

It’s very hard trying to go through life avoiding bridges. As a matter of fact it’s almost downright impossible. I am proud to say there have been times I have handled it remarkably well.

But, we cross so many bridges in our life without even thinking about it…there’s the bridge to nowhere, the bridge of no return, the bridge of friendship, we bridge the proverbial gap and I’m sure you could think of a zillion more clichés.

We cross circumstantial bridges daily in our life. We cross from crisis to calm, illness to health, confusion to clarity, turmoil to peace. And, the conduit that allows you safe passage from one side to the next is a God-send in more ways than one. That bridge is our passageway to the other, hopefully better side.

There are several covered bridges here in Alabama in a nearby county. I have wanted for sometime to take Tall & Handsome on a day trip to this particular bridge in today’s picture.

I have seen this bridge off and on since I was a child. It is Horton Mill Bridge in Blount County, Alabama. Built in the early 1900s, a few years ago some maniacal  clown used a wench or something and actually pulled part of the bridge apart. Just pulled timbers away from the old girl. She needed TLC at that point and was shut down for several year while repairs were done. This happened while we were living out of state and I just recently discovered the whole ugly story. The bridge had reopened in March 2013 and we just happened to take a trip up there in April. Lucky happenstance!

When I see a covered bridge I can’t help but think about T & H. You see, I was reading the book The Bridges of Madison County about the time I met him. It had been a difficult year. My ex had walked out months before, 9/11 happened and I had some health problems. I was wondering if I’d find the warmth of love again while I was reading this book about a guy with some silver in his hair and blue eyes.

And, then I meet T & H…or as he was known by his nickname, Silver Fox. Yep, silver hair and blue eyes.

Oh, my…

So, my T & H was my bridge to the warmth of love I speculated still existed.

And, if I had to eenie, meeney, miney, moe if he was a golden bridge, silver bridge or diamond bridge, I would have to say, diamond bridge for sure.

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

Save

2 thoughts on “Diamond Bridge for Sure, by Beverly Hicks Burch”

  1. Very well said. And i’ve always advised myself not to burn bridges. Well I threw out the rulebook a couple times an have no regrets. I’m happy for y’all. I think I’ll keep hope alive.

Leave a Reply

